Skip to main content

Twenty-five faculty members have been chosen as the first group of Experience Learning Faculty Fellows.

They will receive grants to redesign courses to fit the requirements of Experience Learning. They will also participate in an Experience Learning Summer Institute from the week of May 22 to the week of June 12.

More details about the grant programs can be found on the Experience Learning website.

Here’s a list of the Faculty Fellows, the classes they are redesigning, and the types of experiential learning they plan to incorporate into the courses:

  • Robin Barrow-Nichols, senior lecturer in English, ENGL 298: Chancellor’s Honors Writing II (undergraduate research)
  • Karen Boyd, associate professor of practice in education, ELPS 450 Leadership in Transition and ELPS 451 Leadership in Transition Seminar (apprenticeship, clinic, fellowship, fieldwork, internship, student teaching)
  • Jeff Davis, professor of education, ASL 435 Linguistics of American Sign Language (fieldwork, practicum, service-learning, simulation and gaming, role playing, undergraduate research, volunteer work)
  • William (Gray) Dean, lecturer in geology, GEOL 101 Physical Geology (fieldwork, service-learning, student teaching)
  • Terri Durbin, clinical assistant professor in nursing, NURS 524 Basics of Anesthesia (simulation, game playing and role playing)
  • Courtney Faber, lecturer in the Engineering Honors program, MSE 494 Practicum in Engineering Education (practicum, undergraduate research)
  • Nicholas Geidner, assistant professor of journalism, JEM 515 Advanced Reporting Across Media (fieldwork)
  • Sarah Harper, lecturer in philosophy, PHIL 256 Social Justice (service-learning)
  • Melissa Hinten, lecturer in geography, GEOL/GEOG 206 Sustainability, Reducing Our Impact on Plant Earth (fieldwork, internship, service-learning, undergraduate research)
  • Jackie Jacobs, senior lecturer in management, MGT 562: Data-Driven Decision Making (fieldwork)
  • Margaret Keneman, lecturer in French, FREN 218 Honors Intermediate French II (student teaching, undergraduate research)
  • Yolanda Kirkpatrick, clinical assistant professor of education, MEDU 434/SCED 434 Project-Based Instruction (service learning)
  • Charles Kwit, assistant professor in the Department of Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries, FWF 325 Wildlife Vegetation and Habitat (fieldwork)
  • Kelli MacCartey, senior lecturer in English, ENGL 255 Public Writing (volunteer work)
  • Kristina McCue, senior lecturer in English, ENGL 298 Chancellor’s Honors Writing II (undergraduate research)
  • Michael McKinney, professor of geography, GEOG 202 Earth as an Ecosystem (fieldwork, internship, service-learning, undergraduate research, volunteer work)
  • Samantha Murphy, senior lecturer in English, ENGL 298 Chancellor’s Honors Writing II (undergraduate research)
  • Robin Nicks, Distinguished Lecturer in English, ENG 255 Public Writing (service-learning, undergraduate research)
  • Matthew Pamental, lecturer in philosophy, PHIL 255 Sustainability Ethics (service-learning)
  • Lisa Parker, lecturer in Modern Foreign Languages and Literature, SPAN 346 Language and Culture of the Hispanic Business World (internship, simulation, game playing and role playing)
  • Cindy Raines, senior lecturer in marketing, MKT 466 Integrated Marketing Communication (practicum, service-learning)
  • Carolyn Staples, art professor, FREN 211/212 Intermediate French and ARTD 444 Graphic Design Research 444 (undergraduate research)
  • Carrie Stephens, professor of agriculture, ALEC 493/593 Agriculture Leadership and Developing Global Leaders Down Under (study abroad)
  • Cindy Welch, clinical associate professor in information sciences, IS 583 Introduction to Youth Infomatics (fieldwork, service-learning)
  • Ryan Windeknecht, lecturer in philosophy, PHIL 101 Introduction to Philosophy (simulation and gaming, role playing)

The Experience Learning Summer Institute is being co-sponsored by Experience Learning, the Office of Service-Learning, the Teaching and Learning Center, the Office of Online Programs, the Office of Information Technology, and UT Libraries.