Skip to main content

The UT Police Department held its annual employee awards today to recognize members who have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

The following employees were honored at today’s ceremony:

Lieutenant Donnie Ross—Supervisor of the Year. This award is presented to a supervisor for outstanding performance. Colleagues describe Ross as a motivator who takes time to work with his staff to identify how their individual strengths can be used for the greater collective good of his units. Coworkers say he is approachable and always willing to help out when his units need it.

Officer Kelley Spencer—Commissioned Officer of the Year. This award is presented to an officer for outstanding performance throughout the year. Spencer is described as a “spunky go-getter with an awesome attitude.” She is described as someone always willing to help anyone, not afraid to engage and control the largest suspect but equally adept at de-escalating a situation with her verbal skills.

Corporal Lindsey Miller—Community Service Award. This award is presented for service to the community above and beyond the call of duty. Miller has served as a Rape Aggression Defense coordinator and lead instructor, as well as lead instructor on a variety of community outreach trainings. She is an active community liaison for the department and has developed a rapport with the public that has aided in criminal investigations. She was also instrumental in the agency’s recent reaccreditation.

Accounting Coordinator Diana Collinsworth—Noncommissioned Employee of the Year. This award is presented to a noncommissioned staff member for outstanding performance throughout the year. Collingsworth is described as a person who strives for excellence and accuracy, and who “exemplifies integrity.” She is the custodian of the department’s finances, and takes the time to explain proper procedures and educate employees on fiscal policies. She also builds additional safeguards exceeding requirements in order to ensure that questions of impropriety can be avoided.

Each year, department members are encouraged to nominate fellow employees for various awards. Recommendations from the general public also are heavily weighed.



Troy Lane (865-974-6631,

Lola Alapo (865-974-3993,