Skip to main content

Four faculty members from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, were listed among the Southeastern Conference 2023-24 Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows.

The Academic Leadership Development Program seeks to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. Ranging in leadership positions and academic interests, the fellows were named through a competitive process.

Named to this year’s list:

Derek Alderman, Professor, Department of Geography and Sustainability

Michael Higdon, Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Law

Sharon Jean-Philippe, Faculty Director, Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships

Lori Amber Roessner, Professor, School of Journalism and Media

“The SEC is committed to providing opportunities and resources that help prepare faculty throughout our conference for the next phase of their careers,” said LeNá Powe McDonald, associate commissioner of academic relations at the SEC. “The program prepares future leaders whose impact on education and the communities they serve will be felt for years to come.”

The program was established in 2008, and more than 500 individuals have participated as fellows or liaisons. The complete list of fellows is available at the SEC website.



Cindi King (865-974-0937,