Skip to main content

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s Advisory Board will hold its first meeting at 1 p.m. Friday, January 11, in the Student Union Executive Dining Room.

Agenda items include:

  • Introduction of advisory board members
  • Review and vote on advisory board bylaws
  • Election of the chair and secretary
  • Appointment of the student member
  • Determination of process for future student member appointments
  • Presentation of current UT Knoxville budget
  • Scheduling of future meeting dates for 2019

The full agenda and materials for the meeting are available on the chancellor’s website. The meeting will be webcast live and archived for later viewing. A link to the webcast will be available at

The UT FOCUS Act, passed by the Tennessee General Assembly in April 2018, created an advisory board for each UT campus. The boards are charged with submitting recommendations to the UT System Board of Trustees on campus-level strategic plans, operating budgets, and tuition.

Each campus advisory board includes five public members appointed by the governor, one faculty member appointed by the campus’s Faculty Senate, and one student member appointed by the advisory board.

The public members of the UT Knoxville Advisory Board are Alexia Poe and Tom Smith of Nashville, John Tickle of Bristol, and Syreeta Vaughn and Tim Williams of Knoxville.

The Faculty Senate appointed Louis J. Gross, Chancellor’s Professor and Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, to serve as the faculty appointee to the board.

Anyone with a disability who wishes to attend this meeting may contact Melinda Simmons at 865-974-9438 or to request auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate attendance. Contact may be made in person, by writing, by email, by telephone, or otherwise and should be received no later than 5 p.m. EST  Wednesday, January 9.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, is distributing this notice in compliance with the public notice requirement of the Tennessee Open Meetings Act.


Tyra Haag (865-974-5460,