Skip to main content

Searches for UT’s next vice chancellor for research and vice chancellor for communications are now underway. Both positions serve on the chancellor’s cabinet.

An internal search for the vice chancellor for research has begun, with a goal of having a new leader in place by late October. This position serves as the chief research officer of the university and works to promote research and economic development activities, particularly in collaboration with Oak Ridge National Laboratory through UT–Battelle and with other research and development institutions in the state and region.

Stacey Patterson, vice president for research at the UT System, will chair the search. Members of the search committee include Christine Boake, associate dean for research and facilities, College of Arts and Sciences; Michelle Buchanan, deputy for science and technology, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Mark Dean, John Fisher Distinguished Professor, Tickle College of Engineering; Terry Hazen, Governor’s Chair for Environmental Biotechnology; Diane Kelly, director of the School of Information Sciences, College of Communication and Information; Jean Mercer, assistant vice chancellor and director, Office of Sponsored Projects, Office of Research and Engagement; Marisa Moazen, executive director, undergraduate research, Office of Research and Engagement; Jeff Pappas, director of the School of Music, College of Arts and Sciences; Hollie Raynor, interim assistant dean for research, College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences; and Tami Wyatt, associate dean of research and Torchbearer Professor, College of Nursing.

Robert Nobles has been serving as interim vice chancellor for research since August 1 and will continue to serve until the position is filled.

A national search is underway for the next vice chancellor for communications.

This position is the university’s chief communications and marketing officer and advises the chancellor and other senior leaders on communications-related matters. The position oversees the Office of Communications and Marketing and WUOT-FM 91.9, the university’s public radio station.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Vincent Carilli has been serving in this role unofficially since May and will continue to do so until the position is filled.

Mike Wirth, dean of the College of Communication and Information, is chairing the search. Committee members include Lola Alapo, public information officer for public safety; Chip Bryant, vice chancellor for advancement; Tiffany Carpenter, associate vice president for communications and marketing for the UT System; Fabrizio D’Aloisio, assistant vice provost for enrollment management and director of undergraduate admissions; Tyra Haag, director of media relations in the Office of Communications and Marketing; Sadie Hutson, assistant dean for graduate programs in the College of Nursing; Haley Paige, vice president of the Student Government Association; and Donna Thomas, senior associate athletics director and chief of staff for the Athletics Department.

The committee’s review of candidate materials for the vice chancellor for communications will begin in the coming weeks with the intent to bring candidates to campus in late September or early October for public forums.

Brooke Swart, executive recruiter in UT Human Resources, is coordinating both searches. Position descriptions are available online.


Tyra Haag (865-974-5460,