Skip to main content

Here’s a list of faculty, staff, and students honored by outside organizations in the past few weeks:


A paper on epidemic disease dynamics by a group of NIMBioS-associated researchers has won the prestigious Lord Robert May Best Paper Prize from the Journal of Biological Dynamics.


Lora Beebe, professor and coordinator of the psychiatric mental health graduate concentration in the College of Nursing, will be inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing this fall.

Candace BrakewoodCandace Brakewood, assistant professor in civil and environmental engineering, recently won the Transportation Research Board’s 2017 Fred Burggraf Award. This international award recognizes the year’s best research paper by researchers age 35 or younger, and it is one of the highest honors presented by the Transportation Research Board.

Kevin Hales, a lecturer in Africana studies, was chosen to participate in Mississippi in the National Civil Rights Narrative, a three-week summer program sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities Institutes for College and University Teachers. The program was held at Jackson State University.

Sindhu Jagadamma, left, and Rachel Patton McCord
Sindhu Jagadamma, left, and Rachel Patton McCord

Sindhu Jagadamma and Rachel Patton McCord are recipients of the 2017 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities. The Powe Awards provide seed money for research by junior faculty at ORAU member institutions. UT’s Office of Research and Engagement matches the $5,000 award from ORAU.

The US Department of Energy’s Office of Science recently picked two UT assistant professors for its Early Career Research Program. Chemistry’s Brian Long was chosen for his work on developing membranes for gas separations, while industrial and systems engineering’s James Ostrowski was selected for his research into complex algorithms. The program supports the development of individual research programs of outstanding scientists early in their careers.


WUOT Afternoon Concert host Garrett McQueen has been named in Current (public media’s trade magazine) a Black Talent in Public Media You May Not Know But Should. He joins an A-list of public media professionals working in mostly large markets including New York, Los Angeles, Washington, San Francisco, Austin, Baltimore, and other cities. 


Alexa Carter, a graduate student in information science with an interdisciplinary graduate minor in computational science, was selected as a diversity scholar by the Association of Research Libraries Initiative to Recruit a Diverse Workforce.

Four students from the Tickle College of Engineering were chosen to present posters at the 2017 Global Grand Challenges Summit at George Washington University in Washington, DC. They were Sara Davis, nuclear engineering; Chris Haseler, nuclear engineering; Christopher Neal, chemical engineering; and Christina Sanford, civil engineering. The summit was sponsored by the US National Academy of Engineering, the UK Royal Academy of Engineering, and the Chinese Academy of Engineering

Nuclear engineering doctoral student Troy Eckleberry won a second-place prize for his research paper in the 2017 Innovations in Nuclear Technology R&D Awards at the Physics of Reactors Conference.

Tristan Matthew Hightower, student vice president of UT’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, attended the 2017 Student Vice President Leadership Summit hosted by the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society. The two-day event provided information about maintaining active chapters.

Andrew Payant, a second-year graduate student in nuclear engineering, earned a first-place poster presentation prize at the 18th International Conference on Environmental Degradation of Materials in Nuclear Power Systems–Water Reactors.