Skip to main content
A group of 27 of the 40 2017 Regal Scholars with Regal Entertainment Group CEO Amy Miles (center, in black) and Regal Foundation Board members John Curry, Rob Del Moro, Dave Doyle, Greg Dunn, Dave Ownby, Randy Smith, and Ken Thewes.

For UT junior Jacob King, being a Regal Scholar has made all the difference in his university career.

“It has been very important to me,” said King, who was the valedictorian at Halls High School and is majoring in accounting. “It has allowed me to focus fully on school and academics. I don’t have to worry about the cost of a textbook or fee for a class. The Regal Scholarship has relieved those worries.”

The Knoxville-based Regal Entertainment Group’s foundation invests $100,000 each year to provide $2,500 need-based scholarships to 40 UT students from Knox County.

“My parents were really excited for me,” said King. “They knew how hard I’ve worked over the years, and they saw what the scholarship meant to me. And some of the burden is taken off of them.”

The Regal Scholars program, offered for the eighth year in a row, provides scholarships to 10 freshmen, 10 sophomores, 10 juniors, and 10 seniors.

“One of our primary goals as a public land-grant university is increasing access for all students who want to be Volunteers, and the generosity from partners like Regal makes it possible,” said UT Chancellor Beverly Davenport.

Regal CEO Amy Miles, a UT alumna, said awarding the scholarships is a great tradition at Regal.

“We feel strongly about giving back to the communities we live in, and we are extremely proud of the Regal Scholars and our partnership with the University of Tennessee.”

Students applying to UT should visit their high school guidance counselors and ask for more information about the Regal Scholars program as well as other scholarships.

The scholarship program is just one of several ways that Regal supports UT. The company has endowed two Regal Entertainment Group distinguished professorships in the Haslam College of Business and supports the college’s technology fund. The company has also helped make several new UT athletics facilities a reality. Regal’s generous support of UT Athletics has led to the creation of the Regal Soccer Stadium, the Regal Entertainment Group Plaza, and the Regal Scoreboard at Lindsey Nelson Stadium.

Headquartered in Knoxville, Regal Entertainment Group is one of the largest and most geographically diverse movie theater circuits in the United States. The company operates cinemas in 46 of the top 50 US designated market areas.

For more information on UT financial aid and scholarships, visit the One Stop website.

Regal Scholarship holders for 2017 are:

Freshmen—Cara Browning, South Doyle High School; Joanna Hensley, Farragut High School; Brionca Hines, Fulton High School; Camruinn Morgan-Rumsey, Bearden High School; Jonathan Nguyen, Karns High School; Gemma Pierce, Carter High School; Alexandra Styles, L&N STEM Academy; Levi Sweet, Powell High School; Michael Waldrop, Central High School; and Keely Williams, Halls High School.

Sophomores— Raul Arreola-Moreno, Central High School; Julian Ball, Central High School; Christopher Forsyth, Powell High School; Chandler Lepper, Halls High School; Alexandra Nussbaumer, Halls High School; Alexander Owens, Farragut High School; Amanda Peebles, L&N STEM Academy; Morgan Powell, Fulton High School; Caleb Thomas, Hardin Valley Academy; Adam Young, Carter High School.

Juniors—Kendra Anderson, Powell High School; Daryl Brown, West High School; Kristi Cao, Hardin Valley Academy; Madelyn Collins, West High School; Michael Costner, Farragut High School; Jacob King, Halls High School; Preston Laine, Webb School of Knoxville; Thomas Nipper, Hardin Valley Academy; Meet Patel, Carter High School; and Daisey Smith, Powell High School.

Seniors—James Deal, Halls High School; Quentin Eustace, West High School; Sarah Hunter, South Doyle High School; Thomas Jean, Gibbs High School; Austin Lim, Farragut High School; Jenine Omari, South Doyle High School; Rachel Poppert, Berean Christian High School; Lucas Sheridan, Central High School; Hannah Wunschel, Bearden High School; and Khanh Vu, Knoxville Catholic High School.


Brooks Clark (865-974-5471,