Skip to main content

Two UT students are participating in the National Campaign for Political and Civic Engagement conference at the Harvard Kennedy School’s Institute of Politics in Cambridge, Massachusetts, today through Sunday, February 5.

Anita Voorhees
Anita Voorhees

The students—Anita Voorhees, an English major from Knoxville, and Jack Larimer, an economics and political science major from O’Fallon, Illinois—are Baker Ambassadors at UT’s Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy.

Jack Larimer
Jack Larimer

The 2017 National Campaign conference will focus on identifying the root causes of national divisiveness following the 2016 presidential election and work to formulate strategies to bridge gaps between all Americans. Student ambassadors and staff members from 28 colleges and universities across the country will convene on the Harvard campus with the mission of creating a nationally coordinated program, Reconnect America.

Since 2003, the alliance has held annual conferences to identify collaborative projects, foster engagement in electoral politics, assist students in pursuing careers in public service and provide a foundation in civic education. Led by a team of Harvard undergraduates, the collegiate ambassadors to the National Campaign work together to achieve concrete goals such as working with local election offices to improve the voting experience for their campus communities.

“Harvard offers this wonderful opportunity for students across the country to meet others advocating for civic and political engagement, and also hear from researchers, politicians, and public servants,” said Nissa Dahlin-Brown, associate director of the Baker Center. “Anita and Jack will represent us well and bring back plans to our campus to engage even more UT students in civic and political issues.”

In addition to UT, participating colleges and universities include Allegheny College, Arizona State University, Elon University, Franklin and Marshall College, Georgetown University, Harvard University, Louisiana State University, The Ohio State University, Rutgers University, Saint Anselm College, Simpson College, Tennessee State University, the University of Florida, the University of Louisville, the University of Rochester, the University of Southern California, the University of Utah, the University of Virginia, Vanderbilt University, the University of Oklahoma, Howard University, the United States Military Academy, Tufts University, the University of Chicago, Colby College, and the University of Texas at Austin.


Nissa Dahlin-Brown (865-974-8681,

Tyra Haag (865-974-5460,