Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

For senior Alex Perry, being a Regal Scholar made his UT career possible.

“Everybody knows college is not cheap,” said Perry, who graduated from Farragut High School and is majoring in public relations and minoring in psychology. “The Regal Scholarship took a big burden off me and my parents. I’m grateful that I won’t have any debt when I graduate, which will make it possible for me to go on for my master’s in public relations.”

The Knoxville-based Regal Entertainment Group’s foundation invests $100,000 each year in the program. These dollars cover tuition and room and board for 40 UT students from Knox County. For Volunteers from lower-income families, the need-based scholarships help make the dream of earning a degree from UT a reality.

“I’ve met a lot of great people at Regal through the scholarship,” said Perry. “More than just providing the scholarships, Amy Miles, the CEO; Ken Thewes, the chief marketing officer; Richard Grover, the VP of marketing and communications; and Sandra Heinig, the PR director—they all like to get to know the scholarship winners and make us feel supported. Last summer I had a PR and marketing internship at Regal. I drafted press releases and other things, and I learned a lot. It was a great opportunity that wouldn’t have happened if I weren’t a Regal Scholar.”

The Regal Scholars program, offered for the sixth year in a row, provides one-year renewable scholarships to 10 freshmen, 10 sophomores, 10 juniors, and 10 seniors.

“One of our primary goals is increasing access for all students who want to be Volunteers, and the generosity of partners like Regal makes it possible,” said UT Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek.

To be eligible, students must be admitted to UT and meet the same income guidelines as those for the need-based Tennessee Pledge scholarship.

“This is one of our favorite things at Regal that we do,” said Miles, a UT alumna. “As part of the corporate culture at Regal, it’s important for us to give back to the communities that we live in. We are extremely proud of the Regal Scholars and our partnership with the University of Tennessee.”

Students applying to UT should visit their high school guidance counselor and ask for more information about the Regal Scholars program as well as other scholarships.

The scholarship program is just one of several ways that Regal supports UT. The company has endowed two Regal Entertainment Group distinguished professorships in the Haslam College of Business and supports the college’s technology fund. The company has also helped make several new UT athletics facilities a reality. Regal’s generous support of UT Athletics has led to the creation of the Regal Soccer Stadium, the Regal Entertainment Group Plaza, and the Regal Scoreboard at Lindsey Nelson Stadium.

Regal also established the Mike Campbell Pulmonary Medicine Fellowship at UT Medical Center and the UT Graduate School of Medicine. The fellowship fosters research and training for physicians specializing in pulmonary disease.

Headquartered in Knoxville, Regal Entertainment Group is the largest and most geographically diverse theater circuit in the United States. The company operates theaters in 46 of the top 50 US designated market areas.

For more information on UT financial aid and scholarships, visit the One Stop website.

Regal Scholarship holders for 2016 are:

Freshmen—Raul Arreola-Moreno, Central High School; Julian Ball, Central High School; Christopher Forsyth, Powell High School; Chandler Lepper, Halls High School; Alexandra Nussbaumer, Halls High School; Alexander Owens, Farragut High School; Amanda Peebles, L&N STEM Academy; Morgan Powell, Fulton High School; Caleb Thomas, Hardin Valley Academy; and Adam Young, Carter High School.

Sophomores—Kendra Anderson, Powell High School; Daryl Brown, West High School; Kristi Cao, Hardin Valley Academy; Madelyn Collins, West High School; Michael Costner, Farragut High School; Jacob King, Halls High School; Preston Laine, Webb School of Knoxville; Thomas Nipper, Hardin Valley Academy; Meet Patel, Carter High School; and Daisey Smith, Powell High School.

Juniors—James Deal, Halls High School; Quentin Eustace, West High School; Sarah Hunter, South Doyle High School; Thomas Jean, Gibbs High School; Austin Lim, Farragut High School; Jenine Omari, South Doyle High School; Rachel Poppert, Berean Christian High School; Lucas Sheridan, Central High School; Hannah Wunschel, Bearden High School; and Khanh Vu, Knoxville Catholic High School.

Seniors—Savannah Callaghan, Central High School; Ashley Coward, Hardin Valley Academy; Adam Koson, Halls High School; Samantha Medina, Bearden High School; Bethany Miniard, Webb School of Knoxville; Alexander Perry, Farragut High School; Tabitha Smalley, Knoxville Catholic High School; Brandon Taylor, Carter High School; Michelle Van Guilder, Halls High School; and Emily Windle, Farragut High School.


Brooks Clark (865-974-5471, nclark5@utk.edu)