Skip to main content
Robert Grzywacz
Robert Grzywacz

Physics professor Robert Grzywacz has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society.

The organization is honoring  Grzywacz for his contribution to the field including his work to help discover a new element on the periodic table. Grzywacz, director of the UT-ORNL Joint Institute for Nuclear Physics and Applications, helped develop a process that measures the decay of nuclear materials down to one millionth of a second, which was vital in proving the existence of  new element 117.

Grzywacz is now among 11 current physics and astronomy faculty members who are fellows of the society. The others are Cristian Batista, Elbio Dagotto, Mike Fitzsimmons, Geoff Greene, Tony Mezzacappa, Adriana Moreo, Thomas Papenbrock, Lee Riedinger, Soren Sorensen, and Hanno Weitering.

Read more on the Department of Physics and Astronomy website.