Skip to main content
Nan Gaylord
Nan Gaylord

UT College of Nursing faculty members Nan Gaylord and Lynda Hardy have been named to the American Academy of Nursing’s 2016 Class of New Fellows.

Gaylord is a professor of nursing, the director of UT’s Center for Nursing Practice, and the director of the Vine School Health Clinic.

“Dr. Gaylord has a proven record of leadership at our college and in the Knoxville Community,” said Victoria Niederhauser, dean of UT’s College of Nursing. “She saw a need and had a vision twenty years ago to provide school-based health care to underserved children in the Knox County area. This recognition is a tribute to the enormous impact that she has made in providing comprehensive health care in our community. She has also trained the next generation of advanced practice pediatric nurses quietly and humbly.”

Hardy is a professor and the associate dean for research. Her nursing research background specializes in the areas of child health, HIV/AIDS, and trauma. She has been involved at the national level in work groups focusing on big data, biomedical informatics, and Ebola.

Lynda Hardy
Lynda Hardy

“Dr. Hardy’s career has significantly impacted the development and implementation of nursing science and health research,” said Niederhauser. “Her ability to work interprofessionally with a focus on informatics and data analytics will continue to advance our understanding of health, illness, and wellness.”

As the fifth and sixth College of Nursing faculty members to be inducted into the academy, Gaylord and Hardy join Tami Wyatt, assistant dean and director of graduate studies; Sandra Thomas, director of the PhD program in nursing; Professor Joanne Hall; and Niederhauser.

The induction ceremony for the new fellows will occur during the academy’s annual policy conference—Transforming Health, Driving Policy—Oct. 20–22 in Washington, DC.

“I am delighted to welcome this superb cohort of talented clinicians, researchers, policy leaders, educators, and executives as they join the ranks of the nation’s leading nursing and health care thought leaders,” said Bobbie Berkowitz, academy president. “We look forward to celebrating their accomplishments at our conference and then working with them to advance the academy’s mission of transforming health policy and practice by applying our collective nursing knowledge.”

The academy fellows, with the addition of this newest class, represent all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and twenty-eight countries. Academy fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers.

The academy’s more than 2,400 fellows are nursing’s most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice, and research. They have been recognized for their extraordinary contributions to nursing and health care.

Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current academy fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based in part on the extent to which the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and well-being of all.


Emily Kissel (865-974-2755,

Tyra Haag (865-974-5460,