Skip to main content

During the next few weeks, three internal candidates for vice provost and dean of the Graduate School will hold open forums at which they will make presentations and answer questions from the campus community.

Vice Provost and Dean Carolyn Hodges has returned to the faculty of the Department of Modern Foreign Languages and Literatures as of January 1, 2016. Associate Provost for Accreditation Mary Albrecht, who recently oversaw the university’s successful reaccreditation process with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), has been named interim vice provost and dean of the Graduate School.

More information about each finalist can be found here. The forum schedule is:

Larry McKay, Jones Professor of Hydrogeology in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, 3:00 p.m. on January 20 in Haslam Business Building, Room 305

Dixie Thompson, professor and associate dean for research and academic affairs in the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences, 3:00 m. on January 25 in Haslam Business Building, Room 305

Brent Mallinckrodt, professor and associate dean for graduate studies in the College of Arts and Sciences, 2:00 p.m. on January 26 in the Hodges Library Auditorium

Feedback about the candidates can be submitted online.

The vice provost and dean of the Graduate School supervises and coordinates all aspects of graduate education on campus and supports the recruitment, admission, and academic achievement of graduate students here and at the UT Space Institute. The job also includes representing graduate education on the provost’s staff and implementing all graduate education priorities outlined in the Vol Vision strategic plan.

Tami Wyatt, professor and assistant dean of graduate programs in the College of Nursing, is chairing the internal search.

Other committee members include Bruce Behn, associate dean for graduate and executive education for the Haslam College of Business; Monica Black, associate head of the Department of History; Ernest Brothers, associate dean of the Graduate School; Alison Buchan, associate professor, Department of Microbiology; Chris Cox, the Robert M. Condra Professor and head of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Sherry Cummings, associate dean of the College of Social Work; Jeff Fairbrother, interim head of the Department of Kinesiology, Recreation, and Sport Studies; Bonnie Ownley, Faculty Senate president-elect and professor, Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology; John Keny, law student and president of the Graduate Student Senate; and Enkeshi Thom, a graduate student in sociology.