Skip to main content

The College of Arts and Sciences celebrated outstanding faculty with awards in diversity leadership, advising, teaching, research, academic outreach, and service on December 1 at the annual Faculty Awards Ceremony held at the Holiday Inn-Downtown.

Faculty receiving awards were joined by their nominators and guests who shared in the celebration of the honorees’ accomplishments. Theresa Lee, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, presented the awards.

Full details of the awards and more information about the recipients are available online.

Derek Alderman, professor and head of geography, and Michelle Commander, assistant professor of English, received awards for diversity leadership.

Jennifer Bolden, assistant professor of psychology, and Michael Handelsman, professor of modern foreign languages and literatures and Distinguished Professor of Humanities, were recognized for excellence in student advising.

Six faculty members were recognized for excellence in research and creative achievement: Todd Freeberg, professor and associate head of psychology; Robert Norrell, professor and the Bernadotte Schmitt Chair of Excellence in History; Shawn Campagna, associate professor of chemistry; Daniel Magilow, associate professor of modern foreign languages and literatures; Lois Presser, professor and associate head  of sociology; Abner Salgado, assistant professor of mathematics; and Shellen Wu, assistant professor of history.

The award for Distinguished Research Career at UT was presented to Sally Horn, Chancellor’s Professor, and Betty Lynn Hendrickson, professor of geography.

Luke Harlow, associate professor of history, received the award for New Research, Scholarly, and Creative Projects in the Arts and Humanities.

Nora Berenstain, assistant professor of philosophy, and Patrick Grzanka, assistant professor of psychology, were recognized with the award for Interdepartmental Collaborative Scholarship and Research.

Awards for excellence in teaching were presented to four faculty members: Erin Hardin, associate professor of psychology and director of undergraduate studies; Harry “Hap” McSween, Chancellor’s Professor and Distinguished Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences; Jioni Lewis, assistant professor of psychology; and  Joan Lind, associate professor of mathematics.

Lecturers recognized for teaching excellence were Theodora Kopestonsky, lecturer in classics, and Malissa Peery, Distinguished Lecturer of Mathematics and lower division chair.

Mary McAlpin, professor and associate head of modern foreign languages and literatures, received the James R. and Nell W. Cunningham Outstanding Teaching Award.

Michael Handelsman, professor of modern foreign languages and literatures and Distinguished Professor of Humanities, received an award for outstanding service, and Joe Miles, assistant professor of psychology, was the recipient of the faculty academic outreach award.

Suzanne Lenhart, Chancellor’s Professor of mathematics, was honored with the Lorayne W. Lester Award.

John Scheb, professor of political science, was named College Marshal, the highest college honor awarded to a member of the faculty.