Skip to main content

The Institute of Agriculture recently honored some of its top faculty, staff, researchers, and outreach experts with a number of prestigious awards. More than thirty people were recognized with a variety of honors—many gifts sponsored by past faculty, alumni, and friends of the Institute.

The awards were presented at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions luncheon held in Knoxville recently. UTIA Chancellor Larry Arrington expressed his appreciation to all the honorees at the event.

“Our faculty and staff carry out the mission of UTIA every day,” Arrington said. “We have so many talented and dedicated people all across the state, and they do an amazing job for the people of Tennessee. It was an honor to recognize all these award winners for their hard work.”

The 2015 award winners are:

UTIA Institute Professor Award: Bob Trigiano, Entomology and Plant Pathology

Vernon and Ida Darter Award: Chris Cooper, Extension, Shelby County

Lloyd and Nettie Downen Award: Mike Stanley, IT Administrator

G.L. Carter 4-H Youth Development Agent Award: Emily Osterhaus, Extension, Bedford County

Alice Ann Moore 4-H Agent Award: Camille Jessee, Extension, Carter County

Tennessee Association of Agricultural Agents Hicks Award: Michael Barry, Extension, Davidson County; Jeff Lannom, Extension, Weakley County; Jeremy West, Extension, Scott County

Charles and Julie Wharton Award of Extension Achievements: Linda Hyder, Extension, Sevier County; Creig Kimbro, Extension, Grundy County; Tim Smith, Extension, Obion County

William Bishop Service Award: Mitch Beaty, Extension 4-H Specialist, Eastern Region Office

Cavender Award for Best Publication: Rob Holland, Megan Leffew, Center for Profitable Agriculture

J.E. Moss Achievement Awards: Joanne Logan, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; Justin Rhinehart, Extension; David Stone, AgResearch; Ann Viera, College of Veterinary Medicine

E.J. Chapman Award: Tressie Brown-Nuchols, College of Veterinary Medicine

William Miles Award for Community Service: Sarel Van Amstel, College of Veterinary Medicine, Large Animal Clinical Sciences

Gamma Sigma Delta Team Award: “Feral Fixin’ Team,” College of Veterinary Medicine

Webster Pendergrass Award: Karen Tobias, College of Veterinary Medicine, Small Animal Clinical Sciences

Mildred Pendergrass Award: Lori Osburn, AgResearch

AgResearch Impact Award: Roland Roberts, Agricultural and Resource Economics

Professional/Academic Award: Sujata Agarwal, Plant Sciences

B. Ray Thompson Award: Arnold Saxton, Animal Science

Williams “Prof” Lidvall Teaching Award: David Golden, Food Science and Technology

T.J. Whatley Young Scientist Award: David Butler, Plant Sciences

In addition to these awards, the following professionals received promotions to professor:

Feng Chen, Plants Sciences

Christopher Clark, Agricultural and Resource Economics

Shigetoshi Eda, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries

Michael Fry, College of Veterinary Medicine, Biomedical and Diagnostic Sciences

Michael Jones, College of Veterinary Medicine, Small Animal Clinical Sciences

Kurt Lamour, Entomology and Plant Pathology

John Sorochan, Plant Sciences

Philip X. Ye, Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science

The UT Institute of Agriculture provides instruction, research and outreach through the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; the College of Veterinary Medicine; AgResearch, including its system of ten research and education centers; and Extension offices in every county in the state.


Chuck Denney (865-382-8058,