Skip to main content

The university-wide Sexual Assault and Misconduct Task Force has been appointed and will begin a series of meetings to examine the critical issues involved in creating a responsive and comprehensive sexual assault and misconduct policy.

The task force members encourage everyone with an interest in this issue to attend their meetings and provide feedback about the university’s Interim Policy on Sexual Misconduct and Relationship Violence. Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek charged the task force members with reviewing the interim policy and introducing any changes or additions that result from the task force and campus discussions and debate. Cheek introduced the new interim policy and new reporting and resources website in a memo sent last month to all students, faculty, and staff.

The next task force meeting will be held at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, September 23, in Thompson-Boling Arena Dining Rooms C and D. Members will review the interim policy and discuss the applicable laws, regulations, and other policies surrounding sexual misconduct and relationship violence. Members of the campus community who attend and would like to have input at the meeting will have a chance to make comments during a public forum portion of the meeting. Additional meeting dates and times are listed below. All meetings will take place in Thompson-Boling Arena Dining Rooms C and D:

  •  3:30 p.m. Monday, September 29
  • 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, October 14
  • 3:30 p.m., Monday, October 27
  • 3:30 p.m., Tuesday, November 11
  • 3:30 p.m., Monday, November 24

The campus community is also encouraged to share feedback and questions with task force members.

Jenny Richter, acting director of the Office of Equity and Diversity and the campus’s Title IX coordinator, chairs the task force.

“Our university community has a unique opportunity to shape policy, examine services provided, and understand the roles and responsibilities of our faculty, students, and staff on this very difficult and complex issue.”

Faculty members are Dean Caula Beyl, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Ginger Evans, assistant professor of nursing; Joanne Hall, nursing professor and president of UT Faculty Senate; Todd Moore, associate professor of psychology and director of clinical training; Spencer Olmstead, assistant professor of child and family studies; Valorie Vojdik, professor of law and director of clinical programs; Dorian McCoy, assistant professor of education; and Karla McKanders, associate professor of law. Along with Richter, staff representatives are Meghan Anderson, associate director of the Thornton Center; Ashley Blamey, director of the Center for Health Education and Wellness; Tim Burkhalter, director of Student Conduct and Community Standards; Adam Kowalski, assistant director of Sorority and Fraternity Life; UT Police Chief Troy Lane; Mary Lucal, director of talent management in Human Resources; Paul McAnear, assistant director of the Student Counseling Center; Mike Ward, senior associate athletics director; and John Zomchick, vice provost for faculty affairs.

Undergraduate students are Miranda Gottleib, who works in the Office of Disability Services; Nicky Hackenbrack, president of Sexual Empowerment and Awareness at Tennessee (SEAT); Conner Dugosh, vice president of the Student Government Association; and Cameron Brown, student athlete. Graduate students on the task force are Rachel Fovargue, Alyse Ray, and Rebecca Jones.

For more information, call Richter at 865-974-2498 or send her an e-mail at or