Skip to main content

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in physics to Peter Higgs and Francois Englert for their research on what has come to be called the Higgs field, which gives elementary particles mass. The UT High Energy Physics group has been part of the hunt for the Higgs boson since 2006, working with the Large Hadron Collider at CERN. The group collaborates with the international collaboration that has built and maintains the Compact Muon Solenoid, or CMS, detector.

To read more about the team’s work, visit the Department of Physics and Astronomy’s website.