Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE—Victoria Niederhauser, dean of the College of Nursing at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has been selected to join an elite network of more than 5,000 women as a member of the Leadership America Class of 2012.

Victoria NiederhauserLeadership America is a program of Women’s Resources. Established in1974, Women’s Resources seeks to advance the power of leadership and legacy through programs that connect, inspire, empower and honor women.

“This opportunity will widen my views on leadership at a national and international level,” said Niederhauser. “I plan to apply these newly developed skills and perspectives in my role as Dean at the College of Nursing. It is a true honor.”

Niederhauser is one of fifty-three outstanding women leaders competitively selected from across the nation to participate in the longest-running women’s leadership development program in the US. Throughout the year-long program, she will have the opportunity to broaden her perspective and enhance her recognized leadership skills.

“We consider it a privilege to assemble these influential women leaders from a broad diversity of professional and personal backgrounds and provide them opportunities to consider new modes of listening, to seek new perspectives, and to imagine new collaborations that will provide new solutions to the challenges of today’s interconnected global society,” said Martha P. Farmer, founder and executive director of Leadership America.

The theme for the 2012 program year is “Leading Into the Future…Changing the World for the Better.”

Participants will visit Washington DC, San Francisco and Houston, where each city’s opportunities and challenges will illuminate the participants’ knowledge and stretch their visions as they consider the future for America as a global leader, the future for national and global consensus and the future for global business and the economy.

Niederhauser joined UT in 2011 from the University of Hawaii, where she served as associate dean for academic affairs at the School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene. She was a Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow from 2008 to 2011, is a board certified pediatric nurse practitioner and received the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners State Award for Excellence in 2006.