Skip to main content

Principles of Civility and CommunityToday kicks off a campus-wide effort to ensure that civility is an integral part of the UT Knoxville community. The Celebration of Civility and Community takes place at 11:30 a.m. today on the Carolyn P. Brown Memorial University Center Plaza, as part of the twenty-sixth annual International Festival.

Students, faculty, and staff from all areas of campus worked together to create a video that looks at what civility means to our campus. What does civility mean to you? Tell us here.

Featured in the video, in order of appearance, are:

  • Suzanne Ankrum Harris, a graduate student studying theater
  • James Dickson, a senior studying advertising
  • Jordan Burner, a junior studying Spanish
  • Mara Naylor, a senior studying public relations
  • Daniel Aycock, a junior studying business
  • Lauren Charles, a junior studying audiology
  • John Nolt, a professor in the Department of Philosophy
  • Avery Howard, a junior studying agricultural sciences
  • Mark Walker, a senior studying nuclear engineering
  • Marva Rudolph, director of the Office of Equity and Diversity
  • Andy Rogers, a senior majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology and
    minoring in theater
  • Jessica Sessions, a senior studying psychology
  • Maria Martin, a sophomore studying journalism and electronic media
  • Gloria Graham, chief of the UT Police Department
  • Madelyn Crawford, a senior studying biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Donna Thomas, senior associate athletics director and interim director of the Thornton Athletics Student Life Center
  • Magan Wiles, a graduate student studying theater
  • Katie Clark, a sophomore studying journalism and electronic media
  • Lynn Sacco, associate professor in the Department of History
  • Beauvais Lyons, professor in the School of Art
  • Mike Wirth, dean of the College of Communication and Information
  • Maxine Davis, dean of students
  • Anton Reese, director of the Student Success Center
  • Joan Heminway, a professor in the College of Law
  • Mason McGlamery, a junior studying political science
  • Tommy Jervis, a senior studying logistics and information management and president of the Student Government Association
  • Tyvi Small, a coordinator in the College of Business Administration
  • Emma Macmillan, a senior studying journalism and electronic media
  • Gabi Caballero, a sophomore studying journalism and electronic media
  • Lizzy Holt, a junior studying psychology and Spanish
  • Virginia Purdy, a senior studying theater