Skip to main content

Joe DiPietroJoe DiPietro has been elected the 24th president of the University of Tennessee. The Board of Trustees elected DiPietro during their fall meeting today. He will replace Jan Simek, who has served as interim president since 2009.

The president of the University of Tennessee leads a system consisting of campuses in Knoxville, Chattanooga and Martin; the Health Science Center based in Memphis; the statewide institutes of Agriculture and Public Service, and the Space Institute in Tullahoma, which is managed by UT Knoxville. DiPietro currently is chancellor of the UT Institute of Agriculture, a position he has held since 2006.