Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

NASHVILLE – Newspaper publishers, editors, journalists and designers won top awards in the Tennessee Press Association’s 2010 newspaper contest, co-sponsored by the University of Tennessee.

The Commercial Appeal (Memphis), the Jackson Sun, the Shelbyville Times-Gazette, the Standard Banner (Jefferson City) and the Erwin Record won the top general excellence awards at the association’s 2010-2011 officer installation ceremony and awards luncheon held today in Nashville.

UT has co-sponsored the annual contest since 1940.

For the eighth year in a row, the Erwin Record has won the top general excellence award for its category.

General excellence honors are based on total points accumulated for awards in each of five categories, based on average weekly circulation, and include small and large daily and non-daily papers. The Illinois Press Association judged a total of 1,468 entries from 76 of the association’s 124 member newspapers.

Other highlights:

  • The Erwin Record also earned the most first-place honors with 12. It won for local features, best single feature, community lifestyles, sports writing, editorials, best single editorial, best personal humor column, best spot news coverage, best news reporting, headline writing, best special issue or section and best website.
  • The Commercial Appeal won eight first-place awards, for local features, best single editorial, best personal column, headline writing, best news photograph, best feature photograph, best sports photograph and best website.
  • The Daily Herald (Columbia) won six first-place awards, for best single feature, editorials, best single editorial, best personal column, best education reporting and promotion of newspapers.

The university’s Edward J. Meeman Foundation honored 10 newspapers for their accomplishments in editorial writing and public service journalism with $250 awards in the categories of best single editorial, editorials and public service.

The foundation was established in 1968 at UT to fund the contests, provide professional critiques of journalists’ work, and support journalism students and faculty.

Newspapers receiving Meeman awards:

  • The Commercial Appeal, the Daily Herald, the Union City Daily Messenger, Grainger Today (Bean Station) and the Erwin Record, best single editorial;
  • The Advocate & Democrat (Sweetwater) and the Erwin Record, editorials; and
  • Bristol Herald Courier, the Jackson Sun and Roane County News (Kingston), public service.

Winners of five first-place awards:

  • Bristol Herald Courier, for make-up and appearance, best personal humor column, investigative reporting, public service and best special issue or section;
  • Shelbyville Times-Gazette, for best single feature, community lifestyles, best personal column, best news photograph and best sports photograph;
  • The Standard Banner, for local features, best single feature, best sports photograph, best special issue or section and promotion of newspapers; and
  • The Tennessean, for sports writing, editorials, best spot news coverage, best news reporting and best education reporting.

Winners of four first-place awards:

  • Grainger Today, for best graphics and/or illustrations, best single editorial, headline writing and public service;
  • Southern Standard (McMinnville), for make-up and appearance, local features, sports writing and headline writing;
  • The Daily News Journal (Murfreesboro), for local features, sports writing, best spot news coverage and best news reporting;
  • The Jackson Sun, for investigative reporting, public service, best feature photograph and best website; and
  • The Lebanon Democrat, for editorials, best education reporting, investigative reporting and best special issue or section.

Other first-place award winners:

  • Mt. Juliet News, best education reporting, investigative reporting and public service;
  • News Sentinel (Knoxville), best single feature, community lifestyles and best graphics and/or illustrations;
  • Roane County News, best personal humor column, public service and best feature photograph;
  • Carthage Courier, best personal column and best feature photograph;
  • Memphis Business Journal, make-up and appearance and investigative reporting;
  • The Advocate & Democrat, editorials and best news photograph;
  • Ashland City Times, best sports photograph;
  • Chattanooga Times Free Press, Sunday editions;
  • Chester County Independent (Henderson), best personal column;
  • Citizen Tribune (Morristown), community lifestyles;
  • Crossville Chronicle, best spot news coverage;
  • Herald and Tribune (Jonesborough), best feature photograph;
  • Herald-Citizen (Cookeville), best personal humor column;
  • Hickman County Times (Centerville), best personal humor column;
  • Johnson City Press, headline writing;
  • Lake County Banner (Tiptonville), best news photograph;
  • Manchester Times, sports writing;
  • Pulaski Citizen, best spot news coverage;
  • The Courier (Savannah), best website;
  • The Daily News (Memphis), best news reporting;
  • The Daily Times (Maryville), best sports photograph;
  • The Greeneville Sun, best special issue or section;
  • The Herald-News (Dayton), community lifestyles;
  • The Leaf-Chronicle (Clarksville), make-up and appearance;
  • The Mountain Press (Sevierville), best news photograph;
  • The Newport Plain Talk, best news reporting;
  • The News Examiner (Gallatin), best education reporting;
  • The Paris Post-Intelligencer, best website;
  • The Tomahawk (Mountain City), make-up and appearance; and
  • Union City Daily Messenger, best single editorial.

A complete list of winnersis available by visiting https://news.utk.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2010_Master_list.pdf.

C O N T A C T :

Charles Primm, UT Knoxville Media Relations, (865) 974-5180, primmc@utk.edu

Robyn Gentile, Tennessee Press Association, (865) 584-5761, rgentile@tnpress.com