Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Fifty-nine students have received the first round of study-abroad scholarships funded by a new international education fee collected from undergraduates.

The students will use the scholarships for spring semester 2009.

Proposed by the Student Government Association and approved by the Board of Trustees in June, the new $10-per-year fee started this fall. Using that fee and existing funds, the Center for International Education awards about $300,000 of scholarships per year. The scholarships are based on a combination of financial need and academic merit.

John Dewitt, a junior in English, is one of the recipients.

“I will study English at the University of Manchester,” he said. “I would have had to use my savings for graduate school if I hadn’t gotten the scholarship.”

Names of all of the spring semester scholarship winners can be found at

Award amounts are $500 for mini-term, spring break and summer programs, and $1,000 for semester and academic year programs.

Additional information about the study-abroad scholarship program, along with eligibility requirements, application instructions and deadlines, is available at

Scholarship recipients and their hometowns are:

Mary Albright, Clarksville
Riley Atchley, Collierville
Alexander Barrett, Knoxville
Heather Bayko, Kingsport
Lauren Beard, Knoxville
Jodi Brown, Bartlett
Jessica Carrese, Knoxville
Seth Cox, Knoxville
John Dewitt, Nashville
Stephanie Droste-Packham, Nashville
Lauren Dudenbostel, Maryville
Ellen Epley, Cookeville
Sarah Gillette, Knoxville
Christopher Green, Nashville
Amanda Hannah, Knoxville
Aaron Heidel, Knoxville
Courtney Holder, Lafollette
Sara Holloway, Nashville
Jason Huynh, Knoxville
Stephanie Inman, Brentwood
Heather Johnson, Dickson
Catherine Karczmarczyk, Telford
Klinton Kratzer, Hendersonville
Ann Latimer, Nashville
Catherine Lewis, Olive Branch, Miss.
Jeff Malik, Cleveland
Scott Martineau, Johnson City
Morgan McCorkle, Knoxville
Eric McGinnis, Washington, W.Va.
Jennifer McNaught, Franklin
Colleen Monahan, Franklin
Evan Morgan, Nashville
Victoria Moss, Memphis
Caitlin Paquet, Knoxville
Christopher Parham, Nashville
Shannon Parker, Murfreesboro
Hannah Patterson, Maryville
Danielle Paul, Knoxville
Ashley Peeples, Collierville
Jed Pruett, Germantown
Joshua Richeson, Inman, S.C.
Jaclyn Salem, Spring Hill
Victoria Scheidt, Maryville
Kara Seat, Nashville
Sharina Sheehan, Powell, Ohio
Emily Shifflette, Germantown
Violette Sivils, Hixson
William Smith, Brentwood
Cody Swallows, Soddy Daisy
Christopher Tepedino, Bartlett
Elisabeth Tilstra, Collegedale
Rebecca Trammell, Knoxville
Kathy Tsai, Knoxville
Stephen Tullock, Riceville
Jennifer Wead, Aiken, S.C.
Helen Weaver, Cordova
Samantha White, Collierville
Katherine Whitehead, Franklin
Nicole Wolf, Knoxville


Anne Hulse, (865) 974-3177,

Amy Blakely, (865) 974-5034,