Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

UT Knoxville has named three faculty members as the latest group of James R. Cox University Professors.

The group includes Angela Batey, associate professor of music; Louis J. Gross, professor of mathematics and ecology and evolutionary biology; and Donald Hodges, professor of forestry, wildlife and fisheries. Each professorship lasts three years and includes a stipend of $25,500 to be used at the recipients’ discretion.

The professorships are named for James R. Cox, a native of Knoxville whose generosity to the university also helped support the creation of the James R. Cox Auditorium in the Alumni Memorial Building. In addition to the newly named Cox Professors, the title is also currently held by George Dodds, associate professor of architecture, who earned the distinction in 2005.