Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

Wes HinesWesley Hines, professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering, has been named Interim Associate Dean for Research and Technology for the UT Knoxville College of Engineering. He will be replacing Wayne Davis, who recently was named interim dean of the college.

Hines received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Ohio University, Athens, in 1985; a master’s degree in nuclear engineering and a master’s of business administration from The Ohio State University in 1992; and his doctorate in nuclear engineering from The Ohio State University in 1994. Hines also attended the Naval Nuclear Power School in Orlando, Fla., in 1986 and worked as a U.S. Naval Officer on Naval nuclear submarines from 1987-1990.

Hines started his career at UT in the nuclear engineering department in 1995 as a research assistant professor. In 2005, Hines was promoted to professor in the nuclear engineering department.

Bruce RobinsonThe College of Engineering has also named Bruce Robinson, an emeritus professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, as Interim Head of the Department of Industrial and Information Engineering. Robinson’s last appointment was as the Armour T. Granger Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering. He was also the coordinator of the environmental engineering program.

Robinson received his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in sanitary engineering from Iowa State University. His doctoral dissertation won the 1980 Nalco Award for Significant Chemical Research in Water and Wastewater Treatment presented in conjunction with the Association of Environmental Engineering Professors.

He previously worked for the Iowa Departmental of Environmental Quality, the Iowa Department of Transportation, and Iowa State University and has also worked as a consultant for several industries. Robinson is a co-holder of two patents and a technology licensing agreement.

He has served as chair and member of several national professional society committees including the ASCE Water Supply Committee and AWWA’s Small Systems Research Committee.

Robinson is a registered professional engineer in Tennessee and Iowa.

For more information, contact the college at 974-0686.