Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Faculty, students and staff were recognized at the annual University of Tennessee Chancellor’s Honors Banquet Wednesday at the Carolyn P. Brown Memorial University Center.

At the banquet, the largest UT honors event of the year, Chancellor Loren Crabtree saluted the accomplishments of key members of the campus community.

Among the top awards presented were:

2007-2008 Macebearer: Dr. Alfred Legendre, professor of medicine and founding faculty member in the College of Veterinary Medicine. He also served as the college’s director of medical services from 1975 to 2000. His 32 years of teaching, research and service impacted hundreds of colleagues and students across the nation. He’s affectionately known by his colleagues and students as “Dr. Legendary.” The university’s Macebearer -– the top faculty honor — leads the faculty in processionals during commencement exercises.

Alexander Prize: Dr. David Schumann, the William J. Taylor Professor of Business in the Department of Marketing and Logistics. His consistently high student evaluations and popularity as a mentor to other faculty have distinguished him as a “master teacher.” Named for former UT president and now Sen. Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey, the award recognizes superior teaching and distinguished scholarship.

The Jefferson Prize: Dr. Lorri Glover, associate professor of history. Made possible by an anonymous donor, this distinction honors the principles of Thomas Jefferson and his pursuit of freedom and knowledge. Glover specializes in the social history of the Colonial South and is the author of two books and one co-edited volume. Her most recent book, “Southern Sons: Becoming Men in the New Nation,” looks at the formation of a Southern masculine identity in the early national era. She has received several top teaching awards throughout her 10 years at UT.

L.R. Hesler Award: Dr. John Peters, professor of educational psychology and counseling. Peters’ dedication to teaching students and encouraging the sharing of thoughts and ideas is noted by many current and former students. He has co-authored and edited many books with his students, including one that is used by more than 50 universities. The award is named for the long-time department head and dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Torchbearer is the highest honor given to a student. Crabtree presented the 2007 Torchbearers with medals, and they all participated in the ceremonial “passing of the torch” at the event.

The new honorees are:

Carrie Elizabeth Harris, an animal science/food science and technology major from Speedwell, Tenn. Harris volunteers her time with the Children of the Cumberlands child advocacy center. Over the past six years, she has impacted more than 400 children and given 3,000 volunteer hours by leading toy drives and clothing collections, securing donations for building renovations and teaching landscaping and gardening as therapeutic activities for the children. She is vice president of the UT Dance Society, president of the Block and Bridle Club, a member of the UT Livestock Judging Team, secretary/treasurer of the Campbell County Farm Bureau Women’s Committee and active in her sorority and the 4-H All Star Council.

Curtis Sanderfer, a political science and Africana studies major from Chattanooga. He is involved with Student Government Association, having served on Freshman Council, as a senator, and last year as president. He was president of the African American Incentive Grant Advisory Board and was a student Orientation Leader. He chaired the Black Cultural Programming Committee this year and has been involved in Emerging Leaders, Student Alumni Associates, Dance Marathon and the Ignite Program. Sanderfer also serves as a peer mentor for First Year Studies and has been a resident assistant in two halls over the last three years. He was recently honored with the Collegiate Achievement Award at the first annual African American Image Awards.

Shanika Deshawn Sanders, an accounting major in the University Honors program from Huntsville, Ala. She has held leadership positions in business fraternities and her sorority. She has served as a resident assistant and as a member of Orange Pride, working with potential student athletes. She also devotes her time to Project GRAD and developed the Beautiful Young Ladies of Confidence group for fourth and fifth grade girls at Beaumont Elementary School. Her work with children promotes academic success and leadership skills. She’s been honored with the African American Achiever Scholarship and membership in Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and the Golden Key International Honor Society.

Ashley Yeager, a journalism and electronic media major from Mechanicsburg, Pa. A perfect 4.0 student, Yeager puts equal dedication and drive into every aspect of her life, from her professional work to public service to her athletic endeavors as a UT scholarship swimmer. Her focus on scientific journalism led her to a scientific writing internship with the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. She writes regularly for the weekly Science section of the Knoxville News Sentinel and was the only undergraduate editor of the University of Tennessee’s new Scientia research magazine. The National Wildlife Fund selected Yeager last year for one of its first Environmental Leadership Awards. In addition to receiving a $5,000 scholarship, she attended an environmental leadership conference in Washington and a 14-day expedition to South Africa. Yeager spends more than 20 hours a week as a dedicated member of the Lady Vols Swimming and Diving Team. She has co-chaired for two years the survivorship committee for the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life.

Elizabeth Marie Wilson, a College Scholars student from Strawberry Plains, Tenn. She is an energetic woman who has been a member of the Pride of the Southland Band, a student orientation leader, a leader in Ambassador Scholars and a member of Greek governance. She is also a Baker Scholar, a resident assistant, a Student Government Association senator and a member of various campus-wide committees. That same energy led to her participation in UT traditions such as All-Sing and Carnicus. She also serves as president of Mortar Board.

The full list of all faculty, staff and student awards is available online at

Archived video of the event will be available here.

Contact: Beth Gladden,, 865-974-9008 or 865-771-1284