Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Dr. Bruce E. Bursten has been named dean of the University of Tennessee College of Arts and Sciences.

He will begin on Sept. 1.

Dr. Bruce E. Bursten

Bursten, who comes to UT from Ohio State University, most recently held the position of distinguished university professor. He was chair of the department of chemistry from 1999 to 2003.

“Dr. Bursten has exceptional experience that will enable him to provide strong leadership for the College of Arts and Sciences,” UT Knoxville Chancellor Loren Crabtree said. “We are delighted that a person of his professional stature has accepted the position.”

Bursten received a Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from the University of Wisconsin in 1978 and an S.B. degree with honors in chemistry from the University of Chicago in 1974.

He has received awards such as the Spiers Memorial Prize and Medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry, and was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2003.

“I am truly excited about joining my new colleagues at the University of Tennessee,” Bursten said. “I look forward to working with the faculty, staff, and students at UT, and in arts and sciences in particular, to help to make our great, distinctive flagship university even greater.”

Bursten succeeds Dr. Harry Y. McSween, who has served the college as interim dean since October 2004.

“I sincerely thank Dr. McSween for the excellent service he rendered the college,” Crabtree said. “His leadership has contributed in a great way to its success.”

The College of Arts and Sciences is UT’s largest academic unit. It is comprised of more than 500 faculty members in 23 departments and three schools. It houses 17 centers and institutes devoted to research and graduate education and 14 interdisciplinary programs offering undergraduate majors and minors.