Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

CHATTANOOGA — A 17-member committee of faculty, students, staff and community leaders will identify candidates to succeed Dr. Bill Stacy as chancellor of the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga.

UT President John Petersen said Monday that Dr. Verbie Prevost, UTC professor and acting head of English, will chair the search advisory committee.

Petersen will receive a list of finalists from the group and recommend a candidate to the UT Board of Trustees for appointment.

“The committee’s primary charge is to find the best person to lead UTC,” Petersen said. “I would hope the process can move quickly, but a target date to finish their work is secondary to identifying a highly qualified pool of finalists.”

Dr. Fred Obear, who served as chancellor for 16 years before retiring in 1997, is serving as interim chancellor. Stacy resigned this summer to become headmaster of Baylor School.

Faculty members on the advisory committee are: David Whitfield, engineering; Kay Lindgren, nursing; John Fulmer, business administration; and Marvin Ernst, human services and past president of the Faculty Council.

Students: Jennifer Sebren, graduate student association; and James Armour, president of Student Government Association.

Staff: Deborah Arfken, dean of graduate programs; Steve Sloan, athletics director; Jonathan Looney, financial aid; and Jayne Holder, alumni programs. (4)

Community representatives: Robert Kirk Walker, chairman of the University of Chattanooga Foundation; John Stophel, immediate past chair of the foundation; Ruth Brinkley, chair-elect of the Chancellor’s Roundtable; and Anita Polk Conley, M.L. King Community Development Corp.

Trustees: John Thornton and James L. Wolford, both of Chattanooga.