Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

NASHVILLE — The Search Advisory Council seeking candidates for the 23rd president of the University of Tennessee selected 12 individuals Monday to interview for the position.

Candidates selected are:
Dr. Jerry Askew, Senior Vice President for Advancement and Community Development, St. Mary’s Health System;
Dr. Jack O. Burns, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Research, University of Colorado System;
Dr. Brady Deaton, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Missouri-Columbia;
Dr. William E. Evans, Scientific Director and Executive Vice President, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital;
Tom Galligan, Jr., Dean and Elvin E. Overton Distinguished Professor of Law, The University of Tennessee College of Law;
Dr. Kermit Hall, President and Professor of History, Utah State University;
Dr. Karen Hitchcock, President, State University of New York at Albany;
Dr. Thomas Meredith, Chancellor, University System of Georgia;
Dr. Kenneth Olden, Director, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, and Director, National Toxicology Program;
Dr. John Peters, President, Northern Illinois University;
Dr. John Petersen, Chancellor and Provost for University Affairs, University of Connecticut;
Dr. Bill W. Stacy, Chancellor, The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

The Council met Monday in Nashville to conduct rounds of voting and reduce a list of 47 declared candidates down to a manageable number to interview next week in Knoxville. Interviews will be conducted by the Council April 13-15.

“What you’ve seen today is that the open process works,” said Search Advisory Council Chair Jim Murphy. “It’s now apparent that this really is a process in which each member of the Council had an equal vote, and that each of them did a good job representing their constituencies. We now have a solid list of qualified candidates to interview, and we’re looking forward to hearing from them next week during the interviews.”

Biographical information on the candidates can be found at http://pr.tennessee.edu/presidentialsearch/candidates.asp.