Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — The University of Tennessee Honors Program continues to chart record growth, its new director said recently.

“This fall, we will welcome 172 freshmen into the program,” said Dr. Mark Luprecht. “The enrollment has grown by a healthy 10 percent each year for the past four years.”

Students were admitted to the program based upon competitive applications which emphasized their academic experience, challenges and successes, and involvement in their schools and hometown communities.

“We’re very gratified to see University Honors Program continue to grow,” Luprecht said. “In fact, we’re taking steps to increase the program’s capacity and, as importantly, to expand the already numerous benefits of being in the Honors Program.”

Selection for the competitive scholarships is based on academic performance and on academic and professional promise, Luprecht said. Most recipients must have had at least a 3.5 high school GPA and 27 ACT or 1210 SAT scores, he said.

These students may select any major, take honors courses and seminars, and complete a senior project. They also receive priorities in course registration, computing, and library services, he said.

This fall’s incoming UT Honors Program enrollees are listed below.

African American Achievement Scholars:

Shanika Sanders, Huntsville, Ala.
Courtney Hancock, Farmers, Texas
Folasade Hinson, Omaha, Neb.
Chinenye Usoh, Nashville
Amy Pollard, Birmingham, Ala.

Bicentennial Scholars

Christopher Nolen, Knoxville
Andrew Fraser, Knoxville
Michael Davis, Tullahoma
Rebekah Smeltzer, Knoxville
Thomas Walker, Maryville
Jo Barnes, Knoxville
Lauren Abernathy, Germantown
Eric Edens, Pegram
Kathryn Elam, Memphis
Erin Empting, Germantown
Jennifer Folda Collierville
William Fortunato, Knoxville
Catherine Foster, Collierville
Kelly Greene, Knoxville
John Hampstead, Powell
Elissa Hirst, Knoxville
Erin Jackson, Church Hill
Lisa Krekelberg, Johnson City
Emily Lay, Powell
Christopher Lowe, Chattanooga
Shunlan Lu, Knoxville
Allison Pierce, Kingsport
James Smith, Sevierville
Stephen Williams, Ooltewah
Joel Wood, Knoxville
Lisa Schutt, Madison
Stephanie Davis, Martin
Julie Allen, Knoxville
Chabli Balcom, Harriman
Leon Barkley, Millington
Rebecca Fennell, Arlington
Patricia Graves, Oak Ridge
Jennifer Harper, Jefferson City
James Mitchell, Kingston
Paul Steele, Brentwood
Mallory Irwin, Knoxville
Margaret Logan, Murfreesboro
James Scruggs, Nashville
Joel Seligstein, Memphis
Crystal Waters, Millington
Caroline Myers, Memphis
Jennifer Cavanaugh, Brentwood
Patrick Dakin, Knoxville
Barbara Booth, Gatlinburg
Ryan Thomas, Brentwood
Graham Taylor, Chattanooga
Morgan Weaver, Clinton
William Walden, Johnson City
Mary Wedekind, Knoxville
Kristi Bogle, Johnson City
Ryan Freeman, Hendersonville
Shelley Long, Morristown
Whitney Bainer, Germantown
William Moore, Nashville
Weston Turner, Sevierville
Diana Barbeauld, Hixson
Joshua Garrett, Mt. Juliet
Thomas Gray, Elizabethton
Carol Dudney, Knoxville

Bonham Scholars

Lindsay Helton, Gatlinburg
Amber Iacopelli, Bartlett
Robert Lockett, Harriman
Adam Wright, Ridgeland, Miss.
Ashley Pedigo, Westmoreland

Holt Scholars

Erin Campbell, Cleveland
Alexander Nickle, Franklin
Margaret Atkins, Brentwood
Rebecca Drone, Franklin
Mary O’Bryan, Memphis
Lynn Aaron, Clinton
Rebecca Smith, Signal Mountain

Manning Scholar

Bradford Russell, Charlotte, N.C.

Neyland Scholars

Craig Davis, Gallatin
Michael Saylor, Franklin
Paige Utley, Tullahoma
Elizabeth Wilson, Strawberry Plains

Oldham Scholar

Ian Winters, Clarksville

Presidential Scholars

Andrew Galbraith, Sevierville
Joshua Clark, Limestone
Stephanie McKee, Burke, Va.
Adam Messina, Gemantown
Emily Phillips, Gatlinburg
David Shuler, Benton, Ark.
Cheryl Cantrell, Gatlinburg
John Carruth, Camden
Stephen Newman, Gatlinburg
Samuel Oakley, Gatlinburg
Travis Wright, Baton Rouge, La.
Nicholas Boatman, Mascot
Tanzeela Ahmad, Oak Ridge
Lydia Owens, Sevierville

Roddy Scholars

Lori Rhoten, Tullahooma
Rachel Hettich, Oak Ridge

Rogers Scholar

Michelle Chi, Johnson City

Tennessee Scholars

Susan Sapp, Brentwood
Scott Arendt, Knoxville
Jody Bennett, Leicester N.C.
Stephen Greer, Chattanooga
Ryan Lacey, McKenzie
Ben Shepard, Dickson
Amy Bugyis, Parkersburg, W.Va.
Rebecca Davis, Franklin
Catherine Webb, Crestview Hills, Ky.
Derek Bauer, Nashville
Kristen Dobrodziej, Utica, N.Y.
Laura Lockwood, Knoxville
Jamie Olsen, Gautier, Miss.
Phillippe Reed, Clarksville
Nicholas McDonough, Knoxville
Allen Moser, Adams
Nicholas Kessler, Bolivar
Jennifer Kluttz, Ooltewah
Joseph Gibson, Franklin
Stacie Malone, Smyrna
Margaret Adelman, Nashville

Volunteer Scholars

Megan Vaughn, Clinton
Brittnee Robinson, Huntsville, Ala.
Jennifer Ruth, Knoxville
Douglas Wellons, Knoxville
Christina Young, Heiskell
Bethany Blankenship, Apison
Rebecca Bryan, Ooltewah
Robyn Chaplin, Hermitage
Mary Graham, Nashville
Virginia Pirkle, Nashville
Anne Rucker, Murfreesboro
Corey Wise, Johnson City
Jenna Casselberry, Lexington
Jaye Davidson, Knoxville
Heather Dockins, Maryville
Henry Fennell, Knoxville
Kriston Hampel, Old Hickory
Amanda Sharp, Knoxville
Matthew Sinko, Kingsport
Brendan Lawton, Germantown
Kristen Holbrook, Kingsport
Katherine Nesrick, Germantown
Christen Vavalides, Signal Mountain
Candace Johnson, Jonesborough
Stuart Daniels, Chattanooga
Ian Campbell, Knoxville
Katherine Hume, Knoxville
Emily Whelchel, Knoxville
Terence Long, Russellville
Rachael Bell, Memphis
Paulina Reilly, Covington
Leslie Cassell, Kingsport
Anneke Coker, Knoxville
Jessica Ellis, Springfield
Joelene Goff, Jefferson City
Meghan Williams, Knoxville
Sheetal Dedania, Cordova
Patrick Goins, Knoxville
Jodi Bogle, Readyville

Wright Scholars

Wesley Boling, Brentwood
Lindsay George, Oak Ridge
Hillary Holback, Florence, S.C.

Non-Scholarship UT Honors Enrollees

Peter McKinnis, West Lafayette, Ind.
DeAnna Bennett, Moore, S.C.
Kathleen Luster, Mansfield, Ohio
Katherine Parker, Candler, N.C.
Jusitn Viale, Orange Park, Fla.
Christopher Walker, Ellisville, Mo.
Michael Wyckoff, West Chester, Ohio
Andrew McKnight, Ironton, Ohio
Christopher Wary, Harrisburg, Penn.