Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — The University of Tennessee’s Division of Student Affairs recently awarded leadership scholarships to UT upperclassmen.

“The recipients of the Vic Davis-Earl Zwingle, Torchbearer 2000 and Charles Higdon scholarships were chosen based on their exceptional campus leadership and service,” Martha Masengill, assistant vice-president for development, said.

The Vic Davis-Earl Zwingle Scholarship is awarded to rising seniors. Recipients include Neely Catherine Butler, Jessie Hinch, Sarah Keeton, Adam Prater, Daniel Ruble and Anthony White.

Butler, a senior in broadcasting from Clarksville, Tenn., is a UT recruitment ambassador, director of the All Campus Events committee and a member of various honor societies.

Dickson, Tenn., native Hinch is a speech communication major. She is an orientation leader, public relations director for Delta Gamma sorority and a trip leader for Alternative Spring Break, sponsored by TeamVOLS.

Keeton, a student in the honors program from Rogersville, Tenn., is president of the student government association, panhellenic delegate for the sorority Alpha Delta Pi and a representative for the UT advising committee.

Prater is a student in the honors program from Memphis. He is a member of several honors societies, historian for the student government association and a member of the Alpha Tau Omega fraternity.

Finance major Ruble, from Newport, Tenn., is in the honors program and is UT campus president of Habitat for Humanity.

Memphis native White is a finance major. He is the president of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity, treasurer for the minority enhancement of UT and a parliamentarian for the student government association.

The recipients of the Torchbearer 2000 scholarships are Eric Harkness, Emily Curtis and Micah Lacher.

Harkness is an honors program student from Franklin, Tenn. He is on the drum line for the UT Pride of the Southland Marching Band, a member of the issues committee and vice-president of the North Carrick Resident’s Association.

Spencer, Tenn., native Curtis, a food science and technology major, is the collegiate 4-H president, treasurer of Sigma Alpha professional agriculture sorority and the secretary of the UT College of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

From Germantown, Tenn., Lacher is a senior majoring in finance. He is the president of Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity, Interfraternity Council president and a member of the UT student disciplinary board.

Recipients of the Charles Higdon Scholarship are Justin Carlson, Hannah Keith, Nicholas Northington and William Nielsen III.

Carlson, a junior from Brentwood, Tenn., is a member of the UT All Campus Events committee, a worship leader for the cross campus ministry and a participant in the UT honors program.

Kingsport, Tenn., native Keith is a junior in public relations. She is an orientation leader, morale director for Dance Marathon and a member of the Public Relations Student Society of America.

Northington, a sophomore from Knoxville majoring in marketing, is the city of Knoxville liaison, co-chair of the Knoxville affairs committee and is in the UT honors program.

Nielsen is a political science major from Atwood, Tenn. He is the projects co-chair of the Student Alumni Association, a North Carrick resident assistant and a member of the Undergraduate Academic Council.