Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — The University of Tennessee’s Science Alliance has named 42 UT faculty to receive its annual faculty award.

Jesse Poore, UT computer science professor and Science Alliance director, said the award is designed to reward outstanding faculty achievements in research.

“These recipients are an outstanding group of researchers,” Poore said. “We congratulate each one.”

Poore said this is the first year the award has included science and engineering faculty from UT’s Graduate School of Medicine, Institute of Agriculture, Health Science Center in Memphis, and Space Institute in Tullahoma.

A list of recipients is available online at: http://research.utk.edu/scialli/recipients.html.

“I-m delighted,- Dr. Hap McSween, a recipient and UT geology professor at Knoxville who studies meteorites, said. “This is a very tangible way for UT to show that it values what you do. It-s always nice to be appreciated.”

Dr. Daniel Goldowitz, professor of anatomy and neurobiology for UT Health Science Center in Memphis, was recognized for his studies on development of the central nervous system in mammals.

“This award helps the university retain faculty and show its appreciation for their work,” Goldowitz said.

Poore said a panel of scientists and engineers from UT, Oak Ridge National Laboratory and St. Jude Children-s Research Hospital selected this year’s winners. No panel member was eligible to apply, he said.

The Science Alliance, Tennessee’s largest Center of Excellence, was established in 1984 to promote interaction between ORNL and UT.