Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

Dr. Otis Stephens, UT Alumni Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science, was given the University’s highest faculty award at the campus honors banquet Wednesday.

Stephens, who also is a resident scholar in the law college, was named Macebearer. The Macebearer symbolizes the faculty’s commitment to serve students and society.

He is a two-time recipient of the alumni Outstanding Teaching Award and was a visiting fellow in law and political science at Harvard University.

The Alexander Prize, named for former UT President Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey, went to Dr. Edwin Burdette, professor of civil and environmental engineering. It recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in the classroom and in the pursuit of scholarship.

UT National Alumni Association’s Outstanding Teacher Awards were presented to:
Dr. Robert Bast, associate professor of history.
Dr. Maureen Groer, professor and associate dean of nursing.
Dr. William Larsen, instructor of English.
Don Leatherman, associate professor of law.

The alumni association’s public service award winner was Dr. David Fox, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, who was recognized for 30 years of volunteer work in area schools and the community.