Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

Huntingdon, W. Va. — University of Tennessee President J. Wade Gilley was awarded the prestigious John Marshall Medal for Civic Responsibility during Marshall University’s annual Honors Convocation April 6.

Gilley, who served eight years as president of Marshall University, named for the legendary chief justice of the United States Supreme Court, was the keynote speaker for the Honors Convocation. He was presented the award by current MU President Dan Angel.

“Dr. Gilley was instrumental in establishing the John Marshall Medal during his outstandingly successful tenure at Marshall University,” Angel said. “The University of Tennessee is very fortunate to have someone of Gilley’s calibur as their president.”

Previous recipients include Tennessee native John R. Hall, retired chairman and chief executive officer of Ashland Oil, Inc., and celebrated civil rights activist Leon Sullivan.