Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Neyland Scholars will be recognized April 15 at the University of Tennessee during the East Tennessee Hall of Fame luncheon and the Orange and White football game.

The scholars are chosen for outstanding academic achievement in honor of Gen. Robert R. Neyland, former UT head football coach and athletic director.

Neyland, whose 1951 Vols won the national football championship, had 173 wins, 31 losses, and 12 ties. His teams at one point went 62-1 in regular season games, won 36 straight, and held 42 teams scoreless.

After Neyland-s death in 1962, some colleagues launched a nationwide campaign to support UT-s academic programs.

The Neyland Scholarship Fund is now worth about $1.85 million. The four-year award is specifically designated for outstanding undergraduate students entering UT. Four incoming freshmen are chosen annually. Sixteen students, one from each class, hold the $4,000 awards each year.

Robert R. Neyland Jr. will be on hand at both events to represent the Neyland family and to congratulate the students on their accomplishments.

The 1999-2000 scholars, all from Tennessee unless noted otherwise, are:
Jennifer Brantley, mechanical engineering, Ocean Springs, Mass.
Kristi Bohanon, English, Newbern;Christina Campbell, engineering sciences,
Burlison;Joseph Christian, political science, Knoxville;
Susan Clark, business administration, Paris;
Elizabeth Cook, arts and sciences, Niota;
Shawn Genung, chemical engineering, Gallatin;
Stephen Hargroves, accounting, Springfield;
Julia Jackson, arts and sciences, Church Hill;
Lisa Jesse, English, Hendersonville;
Abbey Jones, arts and sciences Gatlinburg;
Bart Lynch, mechanical engineering, Murfreesboro;
Jeffrey Shehane, arts and sciences, Old Hickory;
John Stevenson, anthropology, Memphis;
David Wills, biology, Knoxville.

The luncheon starts at 11:15 a.m. at the Foundry on the World’s Fair Site. Game kickoff is at 3:00 p.m. in Neyland Stadium.