Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Of the 212 Ned McWherter Scholars attending Tennessee colleges and universities during the 1997-98 academic year, 100 were enrolled at University of Tennessee campuses.

 Based on records of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corp., UT-Knoxville led all colleges and universities with 95 McWherter Scholars, followed by Vanderbilt University with 47.

 UT-Chattanooga had three McWherter Scholars and UT-Martin, two.

 TSAC administers the scholarship program, which provides outstanding Tennessee students up to $6,000 annually for college for a maximum of five years.

 For each $6,000 award, the State of Tennessee provides $3,000, and the college or university provides the remaining $3,000. The award is named for former Gov. Ned McWherter.

 To be considered for the award, students must have a high school grade point average of 3.5 and a score on the ACT or SAT college admissions exam in the top 5 percent nationally.