Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.– The University of Tennessee bestowed its highest student honor on seven seniors Wednesday at the campus Honors Banquet.

The Torchbearer award went to Rebecca Loney of Knoxville, Travis Wright of Whitesburg, Tausha Carmack of Bristol, CeCedric Bobo and Jamie Pizzirusso of Memphis, James Kirkland of Jackson, and Andrew Schaeffer of Collierville.

Loney, an accounting major and Tennessee Scholar, is president of Panellenic Council and was recognized as the Outstanding Accounting Student in Tennessee.

Wright, a 1997 Truman Scholar, was one of 20 students named to this year’s USA TODAY Academic All America First Team.

Carmack, a political science major, is past vice president of the Student Government Association and past president of the Student Senate.

Bobo, a mechanical engineering major, has been active in student government and currently is SGA parliamentarian.

Kirkland, a Whittle Scholar majoring in history, is immediate past president of the Student Government Association. He was president of Kappa Sigma fraternity and is a member of the UT Athletics Board.

Schaeffer, an accounting major, has been active in SGA, the Campus Safety Program, Interfraternity Council and the First Year Studies Peer Mentor program.

Pizzirusso, a Whittle Scholar, is a member of the Chancellor’s Recycling Task Force and the Traffic and Parking Authority.

Seniors receiving recognition for campus leadership and service were: Mark Clark of Knoxville; Gerald Dennis of Seymour; Brandy Miller of Clinton; and Betsy Bagsby and Charles Holmes, both of Franklin.

The Lady Vols basketball team and the football team were recognized for extraordinary contributions to campus life. Peyton Manning and Laurie Milligan accepted the awards for the their teams.