Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Students, faculty, staff and alumni of UT were recognized Wednesday for the hundreds of hours they give in service to the university.

For contributions beyond that required in their jobs, Chancellor Bill Snyder presented Customer Service Awards to Mary Boyd, who is retiring after 38 years in the Career Services and Placement Office; Nancy McGlasson, director of the Center for Undergraduate Excellence; and Johnetta Whitmire, records specialist with the UT Police Department.

Christine Landry, a senior from Murfreesboro; Dr. Beth Mullin, professor of botany; Dr. Maxine Thompson, associate dean of students; Gamma Sigma Sigma sorority; and the Resident Assistant Staff in University Housing were cited for community service.

UT employees Pamela Armentrout, Elizabeth Hill and Wade Meadows were honored for extraordinary service to the university. Meadows, director of the UT Book and Supply Store, is retiring this spring after 33 years at UT.

Snyder also gave citations for service to the university to Dr. Herbert Howard, associate dean of communications; Dr. Milton Klein, professor emeritus of history; Dr. Julia Malia, associate professor of child and family studies; Dr. Harry McSween, professor of geological sciences; and Dr. Frank Spicuzza, associate professor of social work.

Carolyn Payne and Jimmy Shelby received alumni and friends service citations.