Skip to main content

MARTIN, Tenn. — The names of eight candidates for the position of chancellor of the University of Tennessee-Martin have been released by UT officials.

 UT Senior Vice President Homer Fisher, chair of the advisory search committee, said the list represents a reduction in the original candidate pool.

 Applications are still being received and other names will be considered, Fisher said.

 The committee identified the following candidates for additional consideration:

 — Teshome Abebe, former provost and vice president for academic affairs, Ferris State University, Big Rapids, Mich.

 — Thomas F. Armstrong, provost and senior vice president, Texas Wesleyan University, Forth Worth, Texas.

 — Daniel W. Ball, vice president for academic affairs, Southern Arkansas University-Magnolia, Magnolia, Ark.

 — William G. Cale, executive vice president for academic affairs, Lamar University, Beaumont, Texas.

 — Peggy Gordon Elliot, acting vice president, American Association of State Colleges and Universities, Washington, D.C., and former president (1992-96), University of Akron, Akron, Ohio.

 — Lewis L. Jones, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Tougaloo College, Tougaloo, Miss.

 — William A. Nevious, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Shawnee State University, Portsmouth, Ohio.

 — Julius F. Nimmons, acting president, University of the District of Columbia, Washington, D.C.

 Since the list was prepared, Elliot asked to be withdrawn from consideration because she has taken another position, Fisher said.

Fisher also said credentials of several other candidates will be reviewed at a search committee meeting scheduled Nov. 21. In addition, 22 other persons have been nominated for the position but have not yet responded to invitations to submit applications.

 “We will begin contacting immediately the references of those candidates under continuing review and report to the committee on the status of these individuals,” Fisher said.

“The committee’s goal is to identify five or six candidates to be invited to UT-Martin for interviews during December or January.”

 The committee plans by February 1998 to submit the names of three or four individuals to UT President Joe Johnson for his consideration, Fisher said.

Dr. Margaret Perry, UT-Martin’s chancellor for more than 11 years, plans to retire in January 1998.

 Contact: Homer S. Fisher (423-974-3211)