Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Students and faculty were honored recently at the University of Tennessee College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources awards banquet.

 Alison Lee Williams, agricultural economics and business, 405 Hamilton Rd., received the Armistead Award for the student from a Tennessee high school who has the highest grade-point average.

 The 1997 W.F. and Golda Moss Outstanding Teaching Awards went to Dr. Bobby L. Bledsoe, 512 Jerdan Rd, professor in agricultural engineering and Dr. William E. Hart, 4917 Angelia Rd., associate professor in agricultural engineering.

 Outstanding Senior Student awards went to Staci Neas, animal science, Greeneville, Tenn.; Shannan M. Robinson, agricultural and extension education, 941 Fretz Rd.; Ralph E. Smith, Jr., agricultural engineering, Cedar Hill, Tenn.; and Josh W. Webber, animal science, Cookeville, Tenn.

 Outstanding juniors were Tresha Gentry, animal science/pre-veterinary medicine, Chapel Hill, Tenn.; Clinton Lafferty, agricultural engineering, Decaturville, Tenn.; Stena Neas, double major in animal science and agricultural education, Greeneville, Tenn., and Jason Shrader, agricultural economics, New Market, Tenn.

 Outstanding sophomores were Laura Foster, food science and technology, 475 Yarnell Rd., Clinton; John H. Hancock, agricultural engineering, Lebanon, Tenn.

 Freshman Outstanding Student was Deborah Robinson, animal science, 8206 Clapps Chapel Rd., Corryton.

 Seniors with the highest grade-point average were Joan Marie Breiner, environmental science, 2508 Maple Drive; Melinda Spurgeon, ornamental horticulture and landscape design, 318 Highland Ave., Maryville.

 Juniors with the best GPA were Susan Gail Key, food science and technology, Talbott, Tenn.; Suellen Price, animal science, Knoxville, (requests no street address).

 Sophomore GPA winners were Kathy Bryant, environmental science, 2630 Early Rd., Newport; John H. Hancock, agricultural engineering, Lebanon, Tenn.

 Freshmen with the best GPA were Nicholas Peter Meadows, wildlife and fisheries science, West Liberty, Iowa, and Angela Lea Witzel, animal science/pre-veterinary medicine, 4605 Wye Way Lane.

 Tim Pruitt, Jonesborough, Tenn., a senior in wildlife and fisheries science, received the U.S. Forest Service Science Award.

 Other faculty honors were the W.S. Overton Faculty Merit Award for notable contributions, awarded to Dr. David Buehler, 1821 El Prado Drive, assistant professor in forestry, wildlife and fisheries, and Dr. Joanne Logan, 5318 Lance Drive, associate professor of plant and soil science.

The 1997 Neal and Tacie Peacock Innovative Teaching Certificates went to Dr. D. Raj Raman, 2208 Fisher Place, assistant professor, and Dr. Ronald E. Yoder, 1143 McCammon Rd., associate professor, both in agricultural engineering.

 The 1997 Buford Ellington Distinguished Faculty Award went to Dr. Richard N. Heitmann, 9121 Tall Timber Drive, associate professor in animal science.

 Ronald Dericke Smiley, 4715 Wheeler Rd., Louisville, department of food science and technology, received the Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award.


 Contact: Lisa Byerly Gary (423-974-8622)