Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — The University of Tennessee-Knoxville psychology department recently presented five annual awards and recognized exemplary faculty, staff and students at its annual Recognition Night.

The faculty appreciation award was presented to Dr. Warren H. Jones, who came to UT-Knoxville in 1990 as professor and department head from the University of Tulsa.

The graduate teaching award was given to Kris Kelly, who received her bachelor of science degree in psychology from California State University.

Reva L. Heron, a fifth-year doctoral student from Farmington, N.M., received the graduate student in applied psychology award. Heron is coordinator of the UT Psychological Clinic. Following an internship with Emory School of Medicine, she will receive her doctoral degree in clinical psychology from UT.

The graduate student research award went to Dan DeNeui from Brandon, S.D. He received the bachelor’s degree in psychology in 1989 from the University of South Dakota and his master’s degree in 1992 from Manatee State University. He is working on a doctoral degree at UT-Knoxville.

Connie Dyke, certified professional secretary since 1993, received the staff appreciation award. She has worked at UT-Knoxville for a total of 12 years; eight of those as the department’s senior secretary.

The following students were honored:

* Jeff Adams of Newburgh, Ind., Chancellor’s Honors for professional promise.

* Frank Castleberry of Knoxville, the Hilton Smith Fellowship.

* Kimberly Crane of Columbia, Tenn., Chancellor’s Honors for campus leadership and service.

* Jennifer Duke of Humboldt, Chancellor’s Honors for academic leadership.

Staff members who were recognized for milestone years of service and their length of employment are Sandy Anderson, 10 years; Karen Fawver, 25 years; and Jackie Riddle, 10 years.

Contact: Sandy Anderson (423-974-3423)