Skip to main content

Dr. Donald Williams, professor of ornamental horticulture and landscape design, took the top faculty honor at UT-Knoxville’s honors banquet Wednesday.

Williams was named Macebearer, the award that symbolizes the UT faculty’s commitment to service, and he will carry the Mace at commencement. Williams, who headed the ornamental horticulture department for many years, is an alumni outstanding teacher award winner.

The Alexander Prize, named for former UT President Lamar Alexander and his wife, went to Dr. Charles Glisson, professor of social work. The award recognizes a UT-Knoxville professor who exemplifies the ideal teacher-scholar.

UT National Alumni Outstanding Teachers are:

* Dr. Dale Goodfellow, nursing.

* Dr. Thomas Heffernan, English.

* Dr. John Hodges, religious studies.

* Dr. Robert Lloyd, law.

The NAA public service award was presented to Dr. John Nolt, associate professor of philosophy, who also won a Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching and was named a Chancellor’s Teaching Scholar. Dr. Sharon Patton of the college of veterinary medicine also was appointed a teaching scholar.

Other excellence in teaching award winners were Dr. T. Vaughn Blalock of electrical and computer engineering, and Dr. Ronald Magid, chemistry. Donald Paine, a Knoxville attorney, won a chancellor’s teaching award given to a part-time instructor.

Dr. Frank Masincupp, associate professor of animal science, won the 1996 L. R.Hesler Award, given for teaching and service. It is named for the long-time dean of liberal arts.

Awards for research and creative achievement were given to: Dr. Douglas Birdwell, electrical and computer engineering; Dr. Thomas Callcott, physics; Dr. Burton English, agricultural economics and rural sociology; Dr. James Godkin, animal sciences; Klaus Johannson, mathematics; Dr. Carol Kasworm, education; Dr. Ronald Petersen, botany; Dr. M.M. Srinivasan, management; Dr. Kenneth Walker, geological sciences; and J. Stroud Watson, architecture.

A new honor, the Angie Warren Perkins Award, went to Dr. Judy Oliva, assistant professor of theatre. The Perkins award, named for the first dean of women, recognizes excellence in scholarship. Dr. Christine Holmlund of romance and Asian languages won the faculty Women of Achievement award.

Those receiving service to the university citations included: Dr. William Bull, chemistry; Dr. Anne Mayhew, economics; Dr. Harry Rutledge, classics; Dr. Olga Welch, education; and Dr. Clifton Woods III, chemistry and associate dean of arts and sciences.

Fran Ansley of law and Dr. Susan Martin, classics, were cited for community service. Chancellor’s awards for excellence in advising went to Dr. Thomas Bell, geography, Dr. Allison Ensor, English, and Dr. Luther Wilhelm, agricultural engineering.

New Distinguished Service Professors, who retain that title as long as they are on the faculty are Dr. Ronald Bright, veterinary medicine, Dr. Joachim Burgdorfer, physics, and Dr. Charles Brooks Jr., materials science and engineering.