Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — The University of Tennessee-Knoxville will celebrate its 200th anniversary-plus-one on Sept. 13.

Last year’s celebration commemorating the 200th anniversary of UT’s founding was so popular that officials decided to continue the ceremony — on a smaller scale –every year. A Charter Day luncheon is set for noon in the University Center Ballroom.

Dr. Donald Eastman, University of Georgia vice president for development and university relations, will speak. UG, founded in 1785, is the nation’s first public state university.

The permanent Alumni Hall of Fame, which honors UT-Knoxville alumni who have achieved distinction in the arts, letters, sciences and learned professions, will also be unveiled. The first eight individuals selected for the hall were announced last year. They are:

* Clarence Brown, Hollywood director. Brown’s films gained a total of 38 Academy Award nominations and earned nine Oscars. He died in 1987.

* James McGill Buchanan, 1986 Nobel Prize recipient for his work in public choice theory.

* John Hightower, 1952 Pultizer Prize recipient for International Reporting.

* Joseph Wood Krutch, recipient of 1955 National Book Award for nonfiction. He died in 1970.

* Cormac McCarthy, winner of the 1992 National Book Award for “All the Pretty Horses.”

* Edward Terry Sanford, the only alumnus to serve as associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. He died in 1930.

* Bernadotte Schmitt, 1904 Pulitzer Prize recipient for “The Coming of the War, 1914.” He was UT’s first Rhodes Scholar.

* John Noble Wilford, winner of two Pulitzer Prizes — one in 1984 for national reporting of science topics and the other in 1987 as a member of the Challenger explosion reporting team.

At the luncheon, study rooms in Hodges Library will be named for Dr. William Bass, anthropology professor emeritus, and the late Dr. Arthur Brown, microbiology professor.

In addition, Norma Cook, Commission For Women chair, will announce the Notable UTK Women project, which honors exemplary women faculty, alumni and administrators. The first honoree will be Angie Warren Perkins, the first dean of women from 1898 to 1900. A plaque in the University Center will bear the names of the honorees.

Contact: Milton Klein (423-974-2806)