Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

JACKSON, Tenn. — Two University of Tennessee faculty members and a UT-Chattanooga student were recognized Friday by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission for service to their communities.

The UT honorees are:

* Dr. Jim Byford, dean of agriculture and human environment at UT-Martin, who has actively made students, landowners and the general public aware of natural resource and conservation issues.

* J. Stroud Watson, architecture professor at UT-Knoxville, who helped develop strategic plans for three Chattanooga urban projects — Broad Street, Riverfront Park and Tennessee Aquarium.

* Michael Foster, chemistry major at UT-Chattanooga, who has worked with physically and mentally handicapped children and the Chattanooga Food Bank. Foster is a senior with a 3.6 grade-point average.

The THEC’s community service awards were created by the legislature in 1991.

Bryant Millsaps, THEC executive director, said the ten 1995 honorees have helped unserved populations throughout the state.

Honorees from other Tennessee colleges were:

* Leo F. Brown, police director, Shelby State Community College.

* Dr. Kay Manson Jeter, director of teacher certification, Fisk University.

* Deborah White, student activities director, East Tennessee State University.

* Rayma Daugherty, student, Roane State Community College.

* Debra Hardrick, student, Shelby State.

* Destiny D. Howard, student, Tennessee Tech University.

* Leslie J.H. Strong, student, LeMoyne-Owen College.

Contact: Cathy Cole, THEC (615-741-7572)