Skip to main content

GATLINBURG, Tenn. — Three newspapers captured 13 of the 54 first place awards in the Tennessee Press Association’s press contests.

The Review Appeal (Franklin) won five first place awards and the Nashville Banner and Chester County Independent won four each.

The contests are sponsored by the University of Tennessee and TPA. Awards were presented by UT President Joe Johnson at the association’s summer convention here.

Eighty-eight newspapers submitted 1,163 entries in the 1995 contests. There are five divisions of competition, based on circulation size.

The Roane County News (Kingston), The Fayette Falcon (Somerville), The Tennessean (Nashville), The Daily Times (Maryville), Kingsport Times-News and The Chattanooga Times each won three top awards.

The Jackson Sun and The Rutherford Courier (Smyrna) won two each.

The Review Appeal’s wins were in sports, sports photography, general excellence, best special issue or section and promotion of newspapers. The Banner was tops for best single feature, sports, best personal column and promotion of newspapers. The Chester County paper’s wins were for makeup and appearance, local features, public service and general excellence.

*The Roane County News – makeup and appearance, single feature, feature photo.

*The Fayette Falcon – editorals, single editorial, public service.

*The Tennessean – news story, general excellence, news photo.

*The Daily Times – makeup and appearance, sports, general excellence.

*Kingsport Times News – Sunday editions, public service, single advertisement.

*The Chattanooga Times – makeup and appearance, editorials, feature photo.

*The Rutherford Courier – makeup and appearance, general excellence.

*The Jackson Sun – single editorial, special issue or section.

Edward J. Meeman Awards, honoring the former editor of The Memphis Press-Scimitar, were given to The Fayette Falcon, The States-Graphic (Brownsville) and The News-Examiner (Gallatin) for winning in the editorial writing categories. The Fayette Falcon and The Jackson Sun won Meeman awards for first place in the best single editorial contests.

The Daily News Journal (Murfreesboro) and Kingsport Times News received Meeman Awards for public service.

Other first place winners: The Fairview Observer, local features; Sullivan County News (Blountville), sports; Smithville Review, sports; The Newport Plain Talk, local features; The Standard Banner (Jefferson City), public service; The Courier (Savannah), community lifestyles; The Commercial Appeal (Memphis), local features.

The Carroll County News-Leader (Huntingdon), personal column; The Dickson Herald, news story; Tennessee Star Journal (Pigeon Forge), news photo; Overton County News (Livingston), single advertisement; The Mountain Press (Sevierville), local features; The Lebanon Democrat, community lifestyles; State Gazette (Dyersburg), editorials; Bristol Herald Courier-Bristol Virginia-Tennessean, community lifestyles; The Greeneville Sun, sports photo.

Contact: John Clark (615-974-2225)