Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — The University of Tennessee Waste Management Research and Education Institute has awarded graduate fellowships and an undergraduate scholarship to four UT-Knoxville students.

The fellowship recipients are Jeff Leblond of Belchertown, Mass., who is working on a Ph.D. in microbiology; Christine Kelly of Philadelphia, Tenn., pursuing a Ph.D. in chemical engineering; and Kelly Tiller of Maryville, seeking a Ph.D. in agricultural economics.

The Oak Ridge Waste Management Association scholarship was awarded to Kathryn Teresa Moore, a senior in civil and environmental engineering from Sevierville.

Recipients of a new WMREI program, designed to attract and keep highly qualified doctoral students in selected UT-Knoxville departments are:

* Jeffrey Collins of Knoxville, economics.

* Kathleen Gillespie of Atlantic Highland, N.J., microbiology.

* Hae-Jin Woo of Knoxville, civil and environmental engineering.

The WMREI is a state-funded center of excellence.

Contact: Dr. Mary English (615-974-4251)