Skip to main content
A sign detailing UT's designation as a land-grant university stands in front of Ayres Hall on a clear day.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, will welcome incoming students from across the state as its newest class of Distinguished Tennessean Scholars this fall.

“We are thrilled to once again offer the Distinguished Tennessean Scholarship award to more than 90 first-year students from across our state, recognizing their hard work, commitment to community and academic merit,” said Vice Provost for Enrollment Management Kari Alldredge. “In addition to honoring our access mission as Tennessee’s flagship land-grant university, scholarships like these allow us to celebrate and support future Volunteers who will light the way for others.”

The university launched the Distinguished Tennessean Scholarship Award in fall 2022 with the goal of recognizing one student from each county across the state for exceptional academic performance and demonstrated community engagement. The scholarship, which covers tuition and mandatory fees and is renewable for four years, is part of UT’s continued commitment to providing Tennessee students with access to an affordable, valuable education shaped by a rich student experience.

“Receiving this award has given me the ability to attend the school of my dreams that I have been thinking about ever since I was a little boy,” said Campbell Lee, this year’s recipient from Rutherford County. “It means that all of the hard work is starting to pay off and is allowing me to start the chapter in my life I have always prayed for.”

Meet the 2024 class of Distinguished Tennessean Scholars

  • Anderson County: Carter Lowe, Coalfield School
  • Bedford County: Laurel Cox, Cascade High School
  • Benton County: Mykenzie Burton, Hollow Rock-Bruceton Central High School
  • Bledsoe County: Andrew DeBord, Bledsoe County High School
  • Blount County: Ethan Elder, Christian Academy of Knoxville
  • Campbell County: Abigail Crumley, Campbell County Comprehensive High School
  • Carroll County: Abby Quinn, Central High School
  • Cheatham County: Brooklyn Hager, Sycamore High School
  • Chester County: Braylon Sanford, Chester County High School
  • Claiborne County: Isabelle Gipfert, Claiborne High School
  • Clay County: Aly Copeland, Clay County High School
  • Cocke County: Tia White, Cocke County High School
  • Coffee County: Abigail Lynch, Tullahoma High School
  • Crockett County: Allie Williams, Crockett County High School
  • Cumberland County: Braden Templeton, Cumberland County High School
  • Davidson County: Wesley Shannon, Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet School
  • Decatur County: Parker Wilks, Riverside High School
  • DeKalb County: Coral Jones, Cookeville High School
  • Dickson County: Josephine Buchanan, Dickson County High School
  • Dyer County: Hayden Warren, Dyer County High School
  • Fayette County: Eloise Williams, Briarcrest High School
  • Fentress County: Victoria Matheny, Alvin C. York Institute
  • Franklin County: Amelia Maxon-Hane, Franklin County High School
  • Gibson County: Amelia Freeman, University School of Jackson
  • Giles County: Rhett Dupree, Columbia Academy
  • Grainger County: Mallory Smith, Grainger High School
  • Greene County: Hailey Solomon, West Greene High School
  • Grundy County: Kyler Hopkins, Grundy County High School
  • Hamblen County: Delaney Miksa, Morristown-Hamblen High School West
  • Hamilton County: Ayden Dant, Notre Dame High School
  • Hancock County: Evan Welch, Hancock County High School
  • Hardeman County: Anderson Fortune, University School of Jackson
  • Hardin County: Olivia Lewis, Hardin County High School
  • Hawkins County: Kendyl Fields, Cherokee High School
  • Haywood County: Casey Thornton, Crockett County High School
  • Henderson County: Jenna Odle, Lexington High School
  • Henry County: Jessica Knott, Henry County High School
  • Hickman County: Kathryn Conner, East Hickman High School
  • Houston County: Grayson Hughes, Houston County High School
  • Humphreys County: Madison Coon, Waverly Central High School
  • Jackson County: Audra Nicholas, Homeschool Clearinghouse
  • Jefferson County: Delaney Jackson, L&N STEM Academy
  • Johnson County: Vanessa Perkins, Johnson County High School
  • Knox County: Sydney Meigs, West High School
  • Lauderdale County: Dennis Hardee, Halls High School
  • Lawrence County: Miles Moore, Loretto High School
  • Lewis County: Andalyn Himes, Lewis County High School
  • Lincoln County: Alexander Dixon, Lincoln County High School
  • Loudon County: Eli Park, Lenoir City High School
  • Macon County: Lukas Pharris, Macon County High School
  • Madison County: Brilee Davis, University School of Jackson
  • Marion County: Natalie Beecken, South Pittsburg High School
  • Marshall County: RuthAnn Johns, Eagleville High School
  • Maury County: Knox Love, Columbia Academy
  • McMinn County: Madelyn Curtis, McMinn High School
  • McNairy County: Cadi West, Adamsville High School
  • Meigs County: Caroline Brack, Meigs County High School
  • Monroe County: Alyssa Dereme, Tellico Plains High School
  • Montgomery County: Thomas Bean, Clarksville High School
  • Moore County: Mackenzie Ward, Moore County High School
  • Morgan County: Gracie White, Wartburg Central High School
  • Obion County: Ella Palmer, Union City High School
  • Overton County: Isabella Robertson, Livingston Academy
  • Perry County: Nicholas Crowell, Riverside High School
  • Pickett County: Allie Amonett, Pickett County High School
  • Polk County: Kaden Trew, Polk County High School
  • Putnam County: Darcy Hickey, Upperman High School
  • Rhea County: Alvin Bishop, Rhea County High School
  • Roane County: Nathan Whittington, Roane County High School
  • Robertson County: Taylor Callis, Springfield High School
  • Rutherford County: Campbell Lee, Blackman High School
  • Scott County: Dylan Anderson, Oneida High School
  • Sequatchie County: Barret Hasley, Berean Academy
  • Sevier County: Emily Whitehead, William Blount High School
  • Shelby County: Jack Ford, Christian Brothers High School
  • Smith County: Ella Gentry, Smith County High School
  • Stewart County: William Mathis, Stewart County High School
  • Sullivan County: Mason Barnett, Dobyns-Bennett High School
  • Sumner County: Hannah Meador, White House High School
  • Tipton County: Dalton Courtney, Munford High School
  • Trousdale County: Taren Simmons, Trousdale County High School
  • Unicoi County: Faith Bennett, Unicoi County High School
  • Union County: Bree Corum, Union County High School
  • Van Buren County: Molly Smith, Warren County High School
  • Warren County: Candice Rowland Anzoategui, Warren County High School
  • Washington County: Katherine France, Dobyns-Bennett High School
  • Wayne County: Joleigh Linville, Collinwood High School
  • Weakley County: Gillian Melton, Dresden High School
  • White County: Anna Frasier, White County High School
  • Williamson County: Joy Mina, Fred J. Page High School
  • Wilson County: Erin Keating, Green Hill High School

Scholarship recipients from Bradley, Cannon, Carter and Lake counties are in review.

Distinguished Tennessean Scholarship award selection

Admitted first-year in-state students are automatically considered for the Distinguished Tennessean Scholarship Award. To receive priority consideration, students should apply for admission by Nov. 1 of their senior year of high school.

The recipient must be admitted to the university and enroll for the fall semester immediately following their graduation from a Tennessee high school.

In addition to the Distinguished Tennessean Scholarship, the university offers the Tri-Star Scholarship program, the Volunteer Scholarship, the Orange and White Scholarship, and other institutional scholarships to Tennessee residents. More information on scholarship opportunities and application deadlines can be found on the One Stop website.


Maggie Palmer (865-974-3993,