Skip to main content

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Campus Advisory Board voted Friday to recommend a zero percent tuition increase for the 2021–22 academic year. It also recommended holding dining and housing fees level for the upcoming year.

The recommendations were part of an $1.32 billion budget proposal that will go before the UT System Board of Trustees in June. The budget includes $265 million in state appropriations, an increase of $18 million over the previous year, and funding for employee salary increases.

“We are grateful to the governor and the state legislature for their continued support for the University of Tennessee,” Plowman said following the meeting. “Their commitment to higher education has allowed us to keep our tuition level and support our students at a time when they have needed us most.”

The board also recognized outgoing student representative Karmen Jones, the Student Government Association president, for her service on the board.

“It’s been a really unique year, and I really appreciate being given the platform to give input to the things that are so important to students,” Jones told the board. “I’m so excited about where the university is headed.”

Alexandra Pellegrino, a doctoral student in sociology, will serve as the next student representative on the board. Pellegrino received her bachelor’s degree in politics from the University of Dallas and her master’s degree in criminology and criminal justice for the University of North Texas.

Meeting materials and the archived webcast are available on the chancellor’s website.

The board was created in 2018 when the Tennessee General Assembly passed the UT FOCUS Act, restructuring the Board of Trustees and creating an advisory board for each campus in the UT System.

The board is charged with making campus-level recommendations to the Board of Trustees on strategic planning, operating budgets, and tuition, as well as advising the chancellor.

In addition to the student representative, the members of the advisory board are Alexia Poe and Tom Smith of Nashville, John Tickle of Bristol, Tennessee, and Syreeta Vaughn of Knoxville. Beauvais Lyons serves will begin his second year of a two-year term as faculty representative on the board.


Tyra Haag (865-974-5460,