Skip to main content

Victoria Niederhauser, dean of the UT College of Nursing, has been elected to serve on the board of directors of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN).

AACN, founded in 1969, is the national voice for academic nursing. With a membership of more than 800 schools, AACN establishes quality standards for nursing education, assists schools in implementing those standards, influences the nursing profession to improve health care, and promotes public support for professional nursing education, research, and practice.

Victoria Niederhauser
Victoria Niederhauser, dean and professor in the College of Nursing

Niederhauser joined the College of Nursing in 2011 and during her tenure has demonstrated her commitment to improving access to education, advancing diversity and inclusion initiatives, and creating innovative solutions to address challenging issues in nursing education.

She is an active participant in AACN and has served on several committees, as a new dean mentor, and as a leader of the U.S. News & World Report rankings advisory group.

“I believe the AACN’s mission and goals will be achieved through engagement of the members of AACN in dialogue as well as the work of the organization, creating venues for advocacy and leadership, and by testing creative solutions to old and new issues in nursing education,” Niederhauser said.

Niederhauser is a board-certified pediatric nurse practitioner, a Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow, and a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. She is currently serving on the board of the Beryl Institute and the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research.

“I believe I will bring to the board a spirit of inquiry, a commitment to addressing tough higher education issues, a keen ability to listen to member schools, and an action-oriented mindset,” said Niederhauser. “I am excited about the direction that AACN is going and am humbled to serve on the board.”

Niederhauser begins her term of service following the business meeting at AACN’s Deans Annual Meeting on March 23.


Karen Dunlap (865-974-8674,

Diane Carr (865-974-7603,