Skip to main content

Misty G. Anderson, professor of English and Lindsay Young Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences, has been selected as a James R. Cox Professor.

The three-year award provides a total stipend of $25,500 to be used at the recipient’s discretion.

“This award is an indication of the high regard in which Misty is held by colleagues,” said David Manderscheid, provost and senior vice chancellor. “We are excited and proud to have her at UT and wish her continued success in teaching, research, and service endeavors at the university.”

Misty Anderson - Lindsay Young Professor English and Adjunct Professor of Theatre and Religious Studies. Also, Faculty Senate President starting July 2018.

In addition to serving as a professor in the Department of English, Anderson holds courtesy appointments in the Departments of Theatre and Religious Studies. She is an expert on 18th-century Britain and has written and edited several books on the topic. She is an elected member of the board of the American Society for Eighteenth Century Studies and serves on the editorial boards of the Restoration and Restoration and Eighteenth-Century Theatre Research journals. Anderson is also a contributor to the Huffington Post and faculty advisor to Tyson House and VOLT, UT’s co-ed a cappella group. In addition, she currently serves as president of the Faculty Senate.

“In my 22 years at UT, I have been so inspired by my students whose curiosity, passion, and intellect makes me want to be a better scholar,” Anderson said. “They’ve helped me think in fresh ways about how conversations from the 18th century around rights, race, entertainment, gender, commercialism, governance, and creativity provide a useful, relevant deep history for understanding our 21st-century world.”

The James R. Cox Professorship honors faculty members for excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service. The university’s gifts from Cox, a Knoxville native, helped establish professorships in 2002 for faculty in the arts, theater, biological and physical sciences, architecture, and forestry industries.

Previous recipients of the Cox Professorship include Suzanne Lenhart, Chancellor’s Professor in the Department of Mathematics; Beauvais Lyons, Chancellor’s Professor in the School of Art; Tricia Stuth, associate professor of architecture; and Paul Armsworth, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology.


Brian Canever (865-974-0937,

Amanda Womac (865-974-2992,