Skip to main content

Here’s a list of faculty, staff, and students honored by outside organizations in recent months:


Additive Manufacturing Integrated Energy, a system that generates, uses, and stores electrical power by sharing energy between a 3-D-printed building and a vehicle, was named a 2017 R+D Award Winner by Architect magazine. AMIE was designed and built through a collaboration between Governor’s Chair for High Performance Energy Practices in Urban Environments Phil Enquist; architecture and engineering firm Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill; UT students and faculty; and Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

WUTK-FM has been voted “Knoxville’s Finest Radio Station” in the 2017 Blank Newspaper readers’ poll for the third year in a row.

WUOT, the public radio station licensed to UT, won two Edward R. Murrow Regional Awards—for Excellence in Writing and New Series—for its 2016 series Five Guns.

The UT Libraries is one of only eight libraries in the United States and Canada to receive the 2017 John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award. The award, sponsored by the American Library Association, the H. W. Wilson Foundation, and EBSCO Information Services, honors outstanding library public relations. UT Libraries was recognized for its Information Is Our Game awareness campaign.


English Professor Joy Harjo was awarded the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, a $100,000 prize that annually recognizes a living American poet for outstanding lifetime accomplishments.

Communications Studies Professor Joan Rentsch’s 1990 article “Climate and Culture:  Interaction and Qualitative Differences in Organizational Meanings,” was selected as one of the 12 most influential articles on climate and culture ever published in the Journal of Applied Psychology.

 Amber Roessner, associate professor of journalism and electronic media, has been selected as a Kopenhaver Center Fellow for 2017.

Jeffrey D. Kovac, professor of chemistry, was a panelist in an Ethics in Science discussion at the 67th annual Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in late June.

College of Law Dean Melanie Wilson is one of five Knoxville residents chosen to participate in the 2017–18 class of Leadership Tennessee. The program provides networking opportunities for leaders of business, nonprofit, education, and government entities throughout the state.

Two nuclear engineering faculty members have received honors from the American Nuclear Society: Professor Richard Wood has been selected as a 2017 fellow, one of the highest honors a nuclear engineer can achieve. Assistant Professor Jamie Coble received the ANS Ted Quinn Early Career Award.

Barbara Kaye, professor of journalism and electronic media, participated in the 2017 Scripps Howard Academic Leadership Academy in June. Twelve to 15 academics and professionals from diverse backgrounds are chosen each year for the program, a partnership between the Scripps Howard Foundation and the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication.

David M. Royse, coordinator and associate professor of music education in UT’s School of Music, is one of nine music faculty members nationwide chosen to participate in the CMS-NAMM Summer Fellows Program for Music Faculty.


Tam’ra-Kay Francis, a graduate research assistant in Teaching and Learning Innovation, was recently awarded the 2017 Donald H. Wulff Diversity Travel Fellowship grant by the Professional and Organizational Development (POD) Network in Higher Education, and was invited to their 2017 POD conference in Montreal. Francis was awarded $1,300 and will showcase her diversity-related educational development work.

Track and field athlete Christian Coleman, a sprinter, was named the USTFCCA National Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year and the SEC Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year.

Lucille (Lucy) Greer of Knoxville, a May graduate, received a prestigious Boren Scholarship that will allow her to spend next year studying Arabic and international politics in Jordan.

Three students have been awarded scholarships to travel abroad to study critical languages that are imperative to the United States’ future security and stability: Katie Plank, of Knoxville, a May graduate in ecology and evolutionary biology, who will be studying Chinese in Dalian, China; John (Harrison) Akins, of Maryville, Tennessee, a PhD student in the Department of Political Science focusing on international relations, comparative politics, and public policy, who will be studying Urdu in Lucknow, India; and Jonathan Hubbard-Shaw, a senior in linguistics, who will be studying Indonesian in Malang, Indonesia.

UT has eight students—its largest number to date—who will be studying and teaching abroad on prestigious Fulbright US Student Program awards during the upcoming academic year: Jordan Bakke, of Antioch, Tennessee, a May graduate with a degree in international development through the College Scholars program, will be an English teaching assistant in Kazakhstan; Nicholas Campbell, of Maryville, Tennessee, a May graduate in Hispanic studies and Latin American and Caribbean studies, will be a teaching assistant in Colombia; Esther Choo, of Knoxville, a May graduate in anthropology with a concentration in disasters, displacement, and human rights, will be studying in South Korea; Alina Clay, of Memphis, a May graduate, in gender, politics, and policy with a focus in Latin America and Eastern Europe through the College Scholars program, will be studying in Latvia; Eric Peters, of Murfreesboro, Tennessee, a May graduate in economics and international business through the Global Leadership Scholars program, will be studying in Hungary; Joel Runnels of Minneapolis, Minnesota, a doctoral student in deaf education, will be studying in Ghana; Colleen Ryan of Cookeville, Tennessee, a Haslam Scholar and May graduate in global studies and honors sociology, will be studying in the United Kingdom; and Meghan Stuart of Johnson City, Tennessee, a senior graduating in August with a triple major in physics, honors math, and computer science, will be studying in Hungary.

Eleven UT nuclear engineering students have received scholarships from the American Nuclear Society. Gavin Ridley, of Seymour, Tennessee, won the Rudolf Stamm’ler Undergraduate Reactor Physics Scholarship, and Mullin Green, of Maryville, Tennessee, won the Sophomore Undergraduate Scholarship. Other undergraduate winners were Christopher Haseler, of Fairfax, Virginia; Kalie Knecht, of Charleston, West Virginia; Austin Saint-Vincent, of Vero Beach, Florida; and Andrew V. Volkovitskiy, of Louisville, Kentucky. Graduate student winners were Jessica Bishop, of Fredericksburg, Virginia; Rachel Gaudet, of Clarksville, Tennessee; Austin Mullen, of West Chester, Ohio; John Wagner; and Fan Zhang, of Shanxi, China.

Dillon Dunn, a fifth-year student in the School of Architecture, received an Aydelott Travel Award, an endowed scholarship by the late Alfred Lewis Aydelott and his wife, Hope, which allows students to study architecturally significant structures around the world. Dunn traveled through Europe and Asia this summer to study the architecture of religious structures.