Skip to main content


Bob Rider, dean of UT’s College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences.

UT’s College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences recently inducted seven educators into the Educators Hall of Honor Class of 2017.

The Hall of Honor was established to recognize educators who have made profound differences in their students’ lives and the community. The program generates an endowed scholarship fund to assist students who are in the process of becoming teachers.

The Class of 2017 includes:

Alice Bratten, a retired teacher of Sunnyview Elementary School and Chilhowee Intermediate School; J. Amos Hatch, a professor of theory and practice at UT; Debora Hatch, a retired teacher from Farragut Intermediate School; Walter Mencer, a teacher and administrator for Knox County Schools; John M. Peters, a professor emeritus of educational psychology and counseling at UT; Stephen M. Reddick, a history teacher at Jefferson Middle School in Oak Ridge, Tennessee; and Robert Webb, an educator and founder of Webb School of Knoxville.

The Educators Hall of Honor was founded in 2002 by C. Glennon Rowell, the late dean of the former College of Education, as a way to recognize deserving educators and assist future teachers.

“These women and men represent the very best our society has to offer,” said Bob Rider, dean of the college. “Their tireless dedication to our youth has significantly impacted their future and, through them, the future of America.”

Bob Kesling, director of broadcasting for UT athletics and the play-by-play voice of football and basketball games, emceed the event, which was held April 20 at the Knoxville Hilton.


Tyra Haag (865-974-5460,